We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place needs some improvements.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place needs some improvements.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The room was nice and large and contained a small kitchen, which is a trademark of this chain and the furnishing were in good condition; Flat screen TV, comfortable office chair for the computer table, and comfortable bed and additional furnishings. The air conditioning was a bit noisy when it first came on and had a tendency up wake me up, but functioned well otherwise. They serve hot breakfast that varies each day, and the evening reception features salad, a main course and drinks, which includes Beer and wine. The one big minus for me is the exercise room. This is a big place, but they have a teeny exercise room with limited equipment. I would expect better form a large motel in this class and price range. The internet was adequate but I was unable to do some of my work because it was too slow. There is high speed fiber service available in the area and I don’t know why so many motels skimp on this feature which is so necessary to the business traveler. Short comings aside it was in an excellent location for my work and I will probably stay there again when I return, if the pricing doesn’t increase too much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello David G,

Thank you for your excellent review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford! I am happy to see you enjoyed many of the amenities we offer!

Specific to the fitness center; we do realize the fitness center is limited to cardio equipment and a few excerise balls. Due to this; we have an agreement with nearby Bally's Total Fitness, a full-service gym less than 5 minutes from the property. Bring your room key to Bally's to enjoy complimentary access!

Please feel free to contact the hotel directly for your next stay to ensure you recieve the same level of great service. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    150
    73
    51
    37
See reviews for
304
73
20
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel is in a nice suburban neighborhood and very convenient location. Had to stay near Newark Airport since one of us was flying home and also visiting family in NJ (but far enough away so as not to hear planes flying all night long). We came up from Florida with our Teenagers, went to Ellis Island, Yankee Stadium, and Brooklyn. We took two suites and the rooms were terrific, clean and spacious, small but nice complete kitchen, though we didn't use anything but the refridgerator. We had to re-arrange the furniture a little to put down the double sized blowup mattress (teenage boys didn't want to sleep together in the pull out couch bed) When we arrived a guest had accidentally triggered the sprinkler system so the whole dining room area was cordoned off but they served a hot breakfast on the second floor. We had coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby every night before going to sleep. It is a very nice place to stay for a couple of days while visiting the NY/NJ area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Steve K,

Thank you for your great review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford! Unfortunately, there was a situation with the sprinklers that caused damage to the "Lodge". Thankfully, all has been fixed and the "Lodge" is open for complimentary daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday.

The accessiblity to NYC from multiple modes of transportation is easily accessible. We have accessibility to busing into Port Authority Terminal, NYC; New York Penn Station, NYC, as well as 20 minute driving time to Holland Tunnel.

Please contact the property for your next stay; to ensure the same delivery of exemplary service. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Homewood Suites 3 times, each time has been different. Our first stay our room was near the smoking rooms and you could smell it horribly in the hallway and sometimes in the rooms. We made sure the next time we went to request a room far far away from the smoking area. The Hotel does have a complimentary dinner reception they offered Monday-Thursday. The food was not that great. The complimentary beer was always just foam and had fruit flies buzzing around it. Breakfast was not much better. The layout of the rooms is nice and beds are comfortable. The appliances do need some updating. Also each time we called the hotel to book our negotiated rate we had they always put us on hold for what seems like an eternity then get transferred to an automated system and speak with someone at Hilton corporate offices. The one time the person did speak with us they told me to speak to Hilton corporate reservations and then call the hotel back again and tell them to put in my negotiated rate. That is a complete waste of time. Some of the staff are not very friendly and also not very knowledgeable as well. When asking for info about how to get to Liberty Island Ferry (which is mentioned on their website) the agent had no idea what I was talking about. This same individual also did not know how to print off boarding passes. The only reason we returned is because it was close to where we needed to go, the layout of the rooms, and Hilton's loyalty program. I hope that they can get their act together it has the potential it just needs the right leadership to get it back on track.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missouriguy_416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello missouriguy_416,

Thank you for your detailed positive survey of the property! There are a few specific things in your response that have been addressed since your departure in May.

The complimentary food and beverage options are one the most important elements of your stay; and feedback is vital. Since May, we have changed food and beverage vendors and have re-worked the menus within the Homewood Suites brand specifications to offer better quality and value.

Regarding your lack of accessibility making reservations: the Sales Department is chiefly responsible for all rates and corporate rate negotiations. I invite you to contact the Sales Department directly in the future to make all reservations at the specific corporate negotiated rate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here two weeks on vaction and made daytrips to nyc. Perfect for that. Make sure however that you do not end up in a "smoking" suite: horrid smell. we quickly changed suites. another issue is the racket that the airconditioning makes, needs urgent updating. For the rest perfect stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aaa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

These are great places to stay. Loads of space. The service from all the staff here was second to none. All were so helpful and took pride in their job.

Kids missed breakfast one morning and staff went the extra mile and sorted us all with breakfast - thank you.

Geraldyne, Adrienne at reception need a special mention!!!

Shuttle bus driver, everyone so helpful made these 3 nights so pleasant.

Highly recommended, evening meals from Monday to Thursday only is a pity when we arrived Friday. :-(

Breakfast had a good selection.

Will definately return!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padraig_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Had booked four nights at this hotel. We showed up an hour and a half earlier after an 18 hour flight and were told that room wasn't ready as yet. Fair enough. Check in time is 3:00 pm. Came back around 8.30 pm to be told after checking in that we couldn't use the tub/ shower till next day since it had been repaired and that we should air it out since the suite was full of chemical fumes from the grout !! Since the hotel was full , they couldn't give me another. Also since had already checked in, couldn't go to another, not that my wife, 11 yr old daughter and I had any energy left after the long flight. Disappointing. Further compounded by the fact the the AC unit is within the bedroom and wS making a racket. The maintenance guy was kind enough to try his utmost to fix Nd it did reduce some, but the rather loud low frequency sounds have made sleeping, for me at least, a bit of a challenge.
Have stayed in homewood suites before and have great memories, so this was not expected. The suite is simply not useable and should not have been rented. The hotel should have planned better. They do state they have a 'satisfaction guarantee...' (we'll fix it or you don't pay for the night... ) but guess it doesn't apply in this case. I am not satisfied and , no don't want my money back but just a decent, comfortable room, which is what I would expect of a Hilton Hotel.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruit Cove, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I hate to do this but a massive disaster. 4 families in town for a wedding. The hotel decides to install no slip surface in tubs on weekend before 4th of July? Rooms not only not ready... But smell from the treatment and painting was down right toxic. Though told our rooms were ready the workers hadn't finished.. Complete lack of organization from the management level which left the front desk in total disarray and no solutions. This reflects poorly on everyone working in the hotel. Buy rubber mats and then plan to shut the place down for 2 days and get the perminant solution installed. Instead, the choice was to ruin a weekend for numerous people.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papaswamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
2.5 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
532 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 5 in Rahway
346 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Property: Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
Address: 2 Jackson Dr, Cranford, NJ 07016-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cranford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newark-Cranford is conveniently located just 17 miles from New York City in Cranford, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, free high-speed internet access, & comfortable one and two-bedroom suites. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many Cranford area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cranford Hotel Cranford
Homewood Cranford
Cranford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing