We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My visit almost a year later, not that good.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn McGuire AFB

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn McGuire AFB
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cookstown
wantage
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My visit almost a year later, not that good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

It has almost been a year since my last stay at Quality Inn McGuire AFB. My first review was positive. However, this time, some of us booked here for our soccer tournament and we weren't thrilled. The plus side is that it is very close to the fields. Also, the girls at the front desk were nice during check-in and check-out. However, I had called earlier in the day and was told "absolutely no early check-in because they were booked the night before" so I didn't bother to show an hour early, but my friends who did go to check-in early were able to get their room. I would have liked to check in earlier. No big deal. As I said, mainly, we booked this hotel due to proximity to the fields but also for the small outdoor pool. Unfortunately, our last game got delayed and we didn't get back until 8pm. The management would not allow our girls to even take a dip in the pool. It was the day after summer solstice and the sun was still high in the sky and it was hot. It would have been nice if they could have bent the rules a bit for a bunch of soccer girls, as that was the reason for our stay! As far as the room was concerned, I paid almost $170 dollars for a mediocre, small, room. It was clean, but the walls were so thin that I could hear the man in the next room coughing as if he was in my room. We also heard his action-type movie into the wee hours of the night. The air conditioning was super noisy, too. I didn't get good sleep. My daughter slept ok.
Due to the high cost of the room and the pool experience, I think I would book the next hotel "down the line" in Bordentown next time (I had stayed there the week before). It wasn't much further, but it was nicer, newer, cleaner, and the indoor pool is open until 10pm. Also, the walls weren't so thin!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 238wendyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Quality Inn McGuire AFB, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at The Quality Inn near Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst. We pride ourselves on service, value and cleanliness. I am happy to hear that your service during check-in and check-out was superb. We are unable guarantee early check-ins, especially when the hotel is completely sold out. As rooms are clean and available, we are happy to check-in guests as they arrive. I apologize that we are unable to keep our pool open after 8pm. It is a rule that we need to stick to because state laws require that an outdoor pool without lights be closed by sundown. I hope that you decide to stay with us again next year, as I believe you will be thoroughly impressed with our planned internal renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
10
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thank you again everyone at this location for making it another great stay for us! This was our second time staying with you and we were just as happy with everything as we were last summer. Our room was nice & clean when we checked in and the housekeeper who cleaned while we were there did a great job too. We loved the 24 hour complimentary mochas & snacks. The rooms are so quiet you can't even tell when the hotel is full! Thanks again for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Quality Inn McGuire AFB, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at The Quality Inn in Cookstown, NJ. We are so glad that you decided to stay with us again. Service is of utmost importance, and we are glad that we were able to continue to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Quality Inn near Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst in Cookstown, NJ the next time that you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

As we walked thru the hallway leading towards our room we noticed the cigarette smoke smell, it was as bad as an old smoky bar. nit good when they proudly advertise as a smoke free facility. We requested a pet friendly room therefore we expected the room to have a slight scent, but the animal urine stench was overwhelming. I have been to dog pounds, even zoo's that smell better than room 141 on this hotel. Immediately we requested a room change only to find out that it had just a little less smell than the first. We had a four night stay booked and we checked out the next day. The staff was polite but clueless on how to hadle this type of situation.
Also it is a pet friendly hotel but you are not allowed to come in with your pet thru the lobby!
It was a very disgusting experience. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverp1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Quality Inn McGuire AFB, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us at The Quality Inn in Cookstown, NJ. We pride ourselves with exceptional service and cleanliness. The Quality Inn is not a smoke free facility, we have 6 smoking rooms, which are on the second floor above the pet rooms. We are a pet friendly hotel. The reason that we do not allow animals through the lobby is because of our guests with allergies and also because we have snacks and drinks in our lobby area. I am sorry that your expectations were not met, and because of that we were able to compensate you. I hope that the next time you are in the area, that you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cookstown hotels

Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had to book last minute rooms for a funeral on Memorial Day Weekend. Every hotel room within a 20 mile radius was booked by people wanting to get to the beach on the first day. I found this hotel and prayed it wasn't icky as I had to book my family and another family there. WOW! Was I surprised! Now, mind you, the hotel is older and it definitely shows some aging but the rooms were clean and quiet and the beds very comfortable. The staff was so friendly (Donna who worked the hot breakfast was SO AWESOME!) and the food was really, really good! Donna kept everything filled and ready to go all morning (both mornings we stayed). We usually stay at Hampton Inns or Embassy Suites but I'm telling you...this place was good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Quality Inn McGuire AFB, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write this great review about The Quality Inn! We pride ourselves on the service that we are able to provide to our guests like you. We are happy to hear that your expectations were exceeded, and that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. There are updates and renovations in the works, and hope to welcome you back to The Quality Inn, however next time for happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am usually open minded when it comes to hotels. However, this was horrible! Needed a pet friendly hotel. Only had 6 rooms available which was ridiculous as the whole hotel was almost empty. First room was noisy and smelled smoky and musty horrible. They switched our room and it was not any better. Had our own air freshener from Yankee Candle and it still couldn't get the bad odor and smell out of the room. Was suppose to be a non-smoking room but had a very strong smell of smoke. Was able to open window, however it was old and rickety and held closed with a stick. Bed was comfortable. Décor was lacking. Breakfast was good and staff was very friendly. Donna and our cleaning lady were wonderful and very nice! However, would not stay there again

Room Tip: If your desperate....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smederlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Quality Inn McGuire AFB, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of The Quality Inn McGuire AFB. We are happy to hear about Donna, the cleaning staff and the breakfast being great! I am sorry for what you endured as far as smell and noise. This is something under consideration and will be taken care in the near future with a renovation of the property. There are only a certain number of pet rooms in the property because of the cleaning that needs to go into each one. I hope that after the renovation is complete you will join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is an older hotel, but it is well maintained, with updated bathrooms, and it is very clean. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked, and all the staff I met were very friendly and helpful. Walls are a little thin, and heating units are older and a little noisy, but it is just a few minutes off the base, and I will definitely stay here when I have to come back to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nybikermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel has 24 hours snacks, fruits, and drinks. The fitness center is much better than most motels. The complimentary continental breakfast has lengthy hours to satisfy those must start the day early as well as those who get to sleep in.

Rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and wireless service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Wrightstown
Days Inn Wrightstown
#3 of 6 in Wrightstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bordentown
Hampton Inn Bordentown
#1 of 11 in Bordentown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge Inn
Lodge Inn
#1 of 6 in Wrightstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Robbinsville
9.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Bordentown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
9.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn McGuire AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn McGuire AFB

Property: Quality Inn McGuire AFB
Address: 21 Wrightstown Cookstown Rd, Cookstown, NJ 08511-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cookstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn McGuire AFB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious accommodations. Complementary hot breakfast with all the extras, complementary snacks and beverages 24 hours, free wireless and wired internet, free business center and guest computer, free parking, guest laundry and fitness center available 24 hours. Clean rooms featuring in room coffee makers, iron, hair dryer, safe (no charge). Friendly and helpful staff on site 24 hours a day. Close to McGuire AFB, Six Flags, Deborah Hospital. Stay tuned for new and exciting changes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn McGuire AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Mcguire Afb Hotel Cookstown
Quality Inn Cookstown
Cookstown Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing