We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend”
Review of Camp Taylor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Taylor
Bridgeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had read the reviews prior to booking my husband and my weekend. at camp taylor. From the time we checked in until we packed up we had an amazing time. The grounds were rural and so beautiful. We stayed on site 67 and was pleasantly surprised to have a creek running through the back and a large site that accomodated our 33ft trailer. We had read the rules prior to arriving so we knew not to bring any firewood as they are trying to curb the spread of bugs. The firewood was 4.95 for a small bundle did think they could have charged a lesser amount or added more to the bundle
We hiked the mountain trail with our lab wasn't easy to find so if you do it make sure you ask in the office we went 3miles out of our way. Trail very rocky and steep but the views of the delaware water gap was worth it. DId run into a rattlesnake so keep your eyes open> if you are looking for pools and alot of fancy amenities this is not the place for you but if peace and quiet and nature is your thing you will love it! We did not pay to go in the Lakota Wolf preserve but could see them from the trail. You can go anytime if you are camping we were with the dog so had to stay on the perimeter. /will be back again to do the other hike and can't wait

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjens4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    32
    3
    3
    16
See reviews for
42
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I spent time at Camp Taylor over Labor Day weekend. The owners are friendly and informative. I definitely don't believe they are as strict as some commentors stated them to be -- they just plain and simply layout the do's and don't's which is acceptable. We enjoyed the fires at night and the trails during the day. The only one issue that we had is getting stakes into the ground. For some reason, the majority of our stakes would only go in 2 inches deep. Hopefully this is something they can fix. This is a good place otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riza718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband along with another couple & single friend camped here over Labor Day weekend. From the moment I read the reviews, I felt uneasy about the whole place and felt like we would be watched like a hawk. Overall, I think it was too busy of a weekend for the owners to keep a close watch on everyone like the previous reviews report. We had to pay for 2 sites since they do not allow more than 4 adults on a site (we had 5!). The showers are coin operated & cost 25 cents for 5 minutes. The best thing about this place is obviously the wolf preserve on-site & access trail to Mt. Tammany. The wolf preserve cost us $10/each & was offered x2/day (due to the holiday weekend I assume). The trail to Mt. Tammany was 7 miles round trip from the office. The view is well worth the steep 1/2 mile 500 feet elevation gain section. Once you're past this, the trial is relatively flat. We did not have any problems with bears on our site, but again, I think it was because it was a very busy weekend. We were fortunate to see 2 black bears on the road to the campground! Overall, I think it is a 1-time place to stay...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polskacorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a fairly nice time at the site, despite the owner nearly ruining it. We understand rules are rules however there is no reason to be rude to your customers if they agree to comply by the rules when an inadvertent mistake was brought to their attention We were having a fun time, sitting around the campfire and listening to music one night when we lost track of time and continued on into “quiet time”. It had to be 11:30 when the owner comes storming down to our site in the pitch black without warning. I feel like he sprinted up to us so he could start yelling. He scared the crap out of everyone who was there because the staff had already warned us about possible bears in the area. Then he proceeds to give us nothing but attitude and tells us to either quiet down or leave. We are all sitting in our chairs around the fire listening to the owner unnecessarily threatened us in the middle of the night when a simple warning would have been enough to get the message across without being hostile or defensive. This man has no social graces; we apologized for the noise and promised to abide by the rules. We immediately complied and turned off the music. At that point he could have said “Thank You” and been on his way, but instead he repeated to threaten us to keep it down or get out.

Other than the owner scaring the life out of us in the middle of the night, the rest of our time was pretty pleasant. All the other staff members we interacted with were very pleasant and helpful whenever we needed something or had a question and the wolves are beautiful to see. Maybe the employees should sit the owner down for some hospitality training in the near future.

You'll see similar comments about the owner in other posts and I’m sure there will be some kind of rebuttal on their behalf, but the fact is their aggressive approach is unwarranted, and while rules are rules and should be followed you should try and comprehend that there are two sides to every coin and being nice to your guests makes them more likely to return and follow those rules.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ThatsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We are not an outdoorsy family so we rented one of Camp Taylor's RVs (RV2). It was perfect! The RV was extremely clean and in perfect condition and just the right size for our family of 5. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful - you can tell that the Taylor family takes pride in their property. We had a great time and we'll definitely come back again. There was enough to do at the campground to keep us occupied for 2 days (swimming in pond, hiking, game room, miniature golf), but the DE Water Gap is only 15-20 minutes away for those who need more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The campground is very wooded lots of space between the sites and the wolf preserve is definitely worth the hike up the mountain. We did not pay for the tour and still saw a few wolves a bobcat and a fox. On the way up to see the wolves you could hear them howling in the distance kind of unnerving actually but very cool too. They also have a deer pen and they were very friendly and offered a close and personal deer encounter. They also have a small pond with a few boats and a swimming area. It was nice and clean and my kids enjoyed it.

Unfortunately, we rented one of the two trailers that they have. It was a hot humid weekend and the trailers AC didn't work. The owners put in a portable unit but that didn't do a thing and made for a very miserable weekend. The beds were without a doubt the worst beds that I have EVER slept in. At the price they charge for these units they can at least put in a decent mattress. There was also a strong septic smell partly I'm sure due to the AC being broken but it was quite awful. They also say that they are WIFI accessible but what they don't tell you is that they limit the bandwidth that you are allowed to use. My girlfriend had a school course to take and she could not get the information that she needed through there limited network access.

So in conclusion we might or might not stay at this site again but if we do we will definitely be better prepared for whatever problems might arise.

Room Tip: Sleep in a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tcambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampTaylor, Owner at Camp Taylor, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
The management at Camp Taylor is very sorry that you did not have a good experience in the RV Rental. Unfortunately, The AC stopped working and a repair service was called immediately, but was unable to get the parts to repair it before your arrival. We always try to remedy a problem as quickly as possible, and a portable unit was immediately brought in. However, the excessive temperatures and extremely high humidity was apparently too much for that type of unit to manage. When you expressed your disappointment with the RV’s AC, we offered you two free nights at a later date when the temperatures would not be so extreme or a refund. I’m sorry you couldn’t get enough bandwidth for your needs, but because internet service is so limited in this rural area, (many homes still only have access to dial-up), we have to restrict bandwidth so one person can not monopolize access to the internet. We do thank you for the review, and are sure your experience would have been better with different weather. We are glad to report the AC has since been repaired and hope you will return another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We are new, first time travel trailer owners and decided to make a stay at Camp Taylor our first camping experience in our own vehicle. Let me preface this by saying that we have stayed at Disney’s Fort Wilderness in a cabin, so we have a little bit of campground knowledge.
Camp Taylor was just perfect! About 50 miles from our home, it was a quiet weekend getaway, just a small lake for swimming (it was chilly anyway) and lots of hiking trails, which is what we did during the day. Each trailer site is quite large and perfectly kept, with a picnic table, fire pit and trash can! The fact that everything was so clean and neat really impressed us. I took a peek at the showers/bathrooms and was not surprised to see very clean, very useable facilities. We also used the Dump Station on our way out and it was functioning properly and maintained well.
The store is adequate for some needs, especially for those who want to cook over the campfire pit, which is at each site. We purchased wood for our campfire, as you must do in all of NJ (maybe more states, too).
A nice weekend was had, thanks to the owners, Clayton & Jean and one of their employees, Kim!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
4.0 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
105 reviews
5.4 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
633 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
6.9 mi away
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
#5 of 8 in Stroudsburg
348 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Taylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Taylor

Property: Camp Taylor
Address: 85 Mount Pleasant Rd, Columbia, NJ 07832-2636
Location: United States > New Jersey > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Columbia
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Camp Taylor Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing