We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away From !”
Review of Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Colts Neck
Reviewed December 11, 2007

This review will be short and sweet. I had booked a room at the inn for a single night. When I called a week later to confirm my arrival day, I was told that they never heard of me and that that weekend could "only" be booked by a two night stay thus they would never have given me a single night stay. i could live with this and scurried to find a hotel/motel in the area. This lack of admitting their mistake by telling me that they had no record of my making a reservation was bad enough but only got worse when I received a VISA charge for staying the "single "night that I was told they wouldn't have possibly given me. Again be careful before consiidering this location.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank bary527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2007

This is a totally unpretentious, pleasant little inn. We stayed there one night in December and had the place pretty much to ourselves. The room was clean and the staff were helpful, despite the language barrier. They were apologetic about the tea room being closed, explaining that at that time of year there was not enough business to keep it open. Finding breakfast in that area at that time of year wasa bit of a challenge, and we eventually settled for Duncan Doughnuts at a nearby shopping mall: a bit of Americana. The price was right--under $100, including tax. Perhaps a B&B might have been a better choice, but we were glad to find an inexpensive night's sleep at this Jersey shore community.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank de_la_Folle_Chanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

This hotel needs some TLC. The front desk area was clean and the staff was friendly. The hotel room was clean; the air conditioning and television worked; the bathroom had soap, shampoo and conditioner with hot/cold running water. However, the room was in need of touchup paint due to a number of marks on the walls; the ceiling lights worked, but did not have finished coverings on the receptacles, the towels and sheets were clean, but looked old (no longer bright white) and the same could be said for the mattress (no longer firm, it felt old). The outdoor temperature was hitting close to 100 degrees, yet no one was at the pool. The water looked like it was chemically treated; but there were leaves in it. It just didn’t look inviting enough to go for a swim. This could be a nice motel if they put some work into it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArbutusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

The room was terrible. The amenities that they list on the website are very misleading. They said that they had 32 all new deluxe guest rooms with all the amenities to make your experience wonderful - this is a crock. The rooms are not new, the place is old and dirty. The paint is peeling off the railings outside and the stairs have caked on dirt on them.
The hotel room itself was filthy. Upon entering the room we were immediately not happy. The walls were dirty, as if someone spilled a drink and it was never cleaned up. I pulled back the bedspread to find soiled, rumpled sheets, with hair on them. When I picked up the phone to call the front desk the phone did not work - it was actually cracked and broken. There was an open bar of soap in the shower that I guess had been left there from the last guest. The shampoo bottles were half full. The bathtub was very dirty, the tracking for the shower doors was so dirty, it could not possible have been cleaned in months. There was no carpeting in the room. There was stuff left in the very mini refigerator they had balancing unsafely on a small table. Needless to say were were highly disappointed. We decided that we could not possibly stay in the room with our children, we were concerned about bed bugs. We gathered our things and went down to the front desk and checked out requesting some type of refund. The woman refused to do anything for us however, admitted that the room was not up to standards.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

the proprietors of this dump, do not have a clue about anything a guest would need. wanted directions to nearby pnc bank arts center.....lady hands me a brochure for the Monmouth county track? she say's "this looks like it." Cultural differences aside, the owners come off as rude and offensive...I was asked " Don't you have the internet? Stayed away from office after that encounter .Battery operated key would not open door.Two lamps, one broken,refrigerator did not work ,two lights in bathroom,one broken.doorknob to bathroom ,hanging off...one wire hangar in closet........the wallpaper filthy, stains all over..swimming pool...sign posted "out of order."....The water was like a cloud of blue goo! Had too get drunk at concert to gear myself for the return to room.After a one night stay at "The Village Inn" i felt like the village idiot!!!!!! Colts Neck itself is a beautiful countryside too bad it has this dead horse!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank velvetrevolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colts Neck
0.8 mi away
Colts Neck Inn Hotel
Colts Neck Inn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colts Neck
71 reviews
4.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tinton Falls-Jersey Shore
5.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Red Bank - Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Freehold
Radisson Hotel Freehold
#1 of 2 in Freehold
988 reviews
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tinton Falls - Eatontown
5.8 mi away
Courtyard Lincroft Red Bank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn

Address: 92 State Route 34 S, Colts Neck, NJ 07722-1735
Location: United States > New Jersey > Colts Neck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Colts Neck
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located Route 18 exit 19A,ten minutes from the Freehold Race Track and Freehold Raceway Mall. We offer 32 all new deluxe guest rooms, and the latest amenities to make your hotel stay and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Colts Neck
Village Motel Colts Neck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing