We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People love, or hate, Cracker Barrel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Clinton
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
nj
Level Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“People love, or hate, Cracker Barrel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Unique atmosphere found only in other Cracker Barrels--a place to stop to eat--in our case, a family tradition; if we are in an area we know, we'd be eating elsewhere.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank shaynashayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    48
    23
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I just always enjoy Cracker Barrel. I've not ever had a bad meal there. The service is sometimes a bit slow, but always very friendly. I did not order the best breakfast, I had the hash brown casserole with bacon. Not sure what I was expecting but it was a small dish of hash browns and a side of bacon. While it was delicious, it wasn't quite a breakfast to remember. My husband had the french toast and loved it. I should have gone with my first instinct and tried the whole grain pancakes with yogurt and fruit. I would have been much happier. Will definitely be back though! Great place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bgtmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“yes it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I keep reading it's "just another Cracker Barrel". Yes, it absolutely is but that's why you stop here. We have discovered that when we are traveling we can enjoy a decent breakfast at a decent price at Cracker Barrel and we did here on Saturday.

The place was mobbed with both locals and travelers and we still enjoyed a well prepared breakfast server in a timely fashion by a very courteous staff.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CTTravelers_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Creek, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“It has its place but It's just like all the Rest.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you are hungry for Big Substantial food Cracker Barrel is the place. Southern style cooking made reasonably fresh is the order of the day lots of deep fried stuff and lots of gravy. I do not think there is anything that qualifies as light here....Portions are big and hearty. As far as I can tell all Crackerbarrels are about the same. For the Genre of food, they have a few good things: The meatloaf is always decent. love the Iced tea and the Chicken and Dumplings are good too. I think the hams are too salty. Though I especially like the fried Okra and the turnip Greens neither of which you can find anywhere else in this area. Avoid the seafood as the fish is frozen and not very tasty. Service at Clinton has always been average.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CampGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just like all the rest of them.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Been to a few of them only difference is the staff and if they can get your order right. They did here if you want breakfast on the weekend go early, before church let's out, or be prepared to wait and then be rushed threw your meal.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lurehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing