We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. Lovely and gracious hosts, great location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Clinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
“Very nice. Lovely and gracious hosts, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our stay was relaxing and charming, with a short walk to Dora's for dinner and a fine stroll around the old mill. We very much enjoyed talking with Monnie and Owen, who made us feel at home. Highly recommended for the accomdations and great breakfast (and a very good value).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1020Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
57
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Monnie and Owen really made our stay there great. Monnie warmly welcomed us on check in and was very friendly in showing us around the house. It was my first trip to a B&B and I will be visiting more of these because of the experience at Riverside this weekend.Although, It will be tough to match the hospitality shown to us by this wonderful couple. The room and breakfast were both great and the information about the local area provided by our host couple was very much helpful. .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed last Thursday (7/25) at Riverside Victorian business associate and I had Rooms
1 & 3. Must say our visit was way beyond our expectations. Monnie greeted us warmly
and gave us a tour of the house and our respective rooms. Monnie also made of point
of asking were our needs would be for the night, and what we would like for breakfast and time
required. I typically travel for work, and must say it's been a while since I have found such stellar service. Breakfast was much more than I had requested, or expedted.
Table set in true Victorian fashion. Meal was prepared and presented perfectly.
Will be back!!
Rob in Chicago

Room Tip: Room Number One
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob11152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My lady-friend and I visited the Clinton area for my 50th HS class reunion. My intent was to find accommodations for the weekend that would lend a bit more nostalgic romance for our mini-vacation, beyond the austere hotel/ motel experience in monotony ! I was COMPLETELY blown away! Upon entering, we were greeted by our hospitable hostess "Monni", surrounded by exquisite antiques, and elegance, complete, down to the needlepoint tablecloth, beneath crystal goblets and wine glasses, crackers and cheese awaiting our celebrated afternoon arrival ! Every aspect of this handsome Victorian was clean and exceptionally well furnished, in woven rugs, and beautifully maintained and preserved antique furniture, fixtures, wall hangings , and draperies. Naturally,some upgrades were necessary, in order to facilitate overnight guests, like the super comfy beds, air conditioners and TV's , door locks and privacy panels, but I truly had the sense of walking back into a time of elegance . Monni's kitchen, partly hidden by a half door , was about the only modernized room, and the den for her culinary wizardry ! OMG ! This was about as far from a "continental breakfast", as one could imagine! The Geman pancakes ( more like a creeps) were presented with fresh thinly cut strawberries, a sprig of nice cold grapes, and made to order bacon, hot off the griddle. She, and her husband Owen , were excellent hosts, and great company. We were made to feel comfortable, and our ONLY complaint was "check out ". I will DEFINATELY go back, if ever I can make an excuse to visit that part of the world , again.

Room Tip: All rooms were desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This property was up for sale when we visited. The owners explained that they are getting on in years, and it is becoming a bit much for them. It has great curb appeal. Inside, it is nice but somewhat tired. The owners served light refreshments in the afternoon: Pepperidge Farm cookies, Gummi Bears, and wine and cheese and crackers. We enjoyed relaxing on the front porch. The small town of Clinton is also very pretty, and an easy walk from the B&B. We saw no fewer than three wedding parties taking photos on the Saturday afternoon we visited. The few restaurants we stopped at all operated BYOB. It is an easy hour from Manhattan, and the proprietors even suggested leaving our car there and taking the bus there and back (although this wouldn't have worked out for us).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappaLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our second stay at Riverside Victorian, and it was once again thoroughly enjoyable. Monnie and Owen are warm and welcoming, adept at putting their guests at ease without ever hovering.

We slept well in an extremely comfortable king-size sleigh bed in an attractively furnished, unfussy room. Before breakfast we rambled through the picturesque, highly walkable town, enjoying the early-morning sounds of birds greeting the day and the town awakening.

At breakfast, guests have their choice of eating at a table in the dining room that seats six (a fun way to get acquainted with other guests) or at smaller tables on the porch. Breakfast included good-quality coffee, tea, orange juice, freshly baked treats (at our table the Irish soda bread was a particular hit), fruit compote, eggs or a heavenly crepe stuffed with sliced fresh strawberries, and a choice of breakfast meats. It was all delicious.

Even though our stay was brief, we left feeling completely refreshed and pampered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Everything about this B&B was excellent, the beds were COMFORTABLE, the structure was adorable, and I can't say enough about the owners. Monnie and Owen could not have been more accommodating in every way possible....can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#2 of 2 in Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Lebanon
Courtyard Lebanon
#1 of 1 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
HYATT house Branchburg
HYATT house Branchburg
#1 of 5 in Branchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
14.3 mi away
HYATT house Bridgewater
HYATT house Bridgewater
#1 of 6 in Bridgewater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lafayette Inn
Lafayette Inn
#2 of 7 in Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Address: 66 Leigh St, Clinton, NJ 08809-1349
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clinton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true Victorian listed on the Historic Registry, we are one block from the center of historic Clinton, one of the most photographed spots in New Jersey. Listed as one of 10 best small towns to visit by the Star Ledger, you'll find a warm welcome! Hot air ballooning, fishing, boating, biking, exploring the local sights, or just relaxing on the front porch are a few of many choices awaiting you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing