We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Getaway”

Spruce Run Recreation Area
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hillsborough, NJ
1 review
“Great Local Getaway”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I went camping with friends close to home because they have a young daughter and were worried she wouldn't make it through the weekend (she did!). The site was large, the water is beautiful and the beach is fun. Make sure you get a site towards the edge though because middle camp sites don't have any trees and are in the sun all day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    18
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just a nice afternoon stroll.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had some spare time that afternoon, so I decided to stop here and just take a nice quiet walk. Sun was shining and the park, not yet open for swimming, was nice and quiet.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJPeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Navigate! Explore! Fish! Hike! Picnic!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hah! Day of supreme pleasure. Peaceful! bring lounge cchairs to spread out & read, (mosquito spray=good idea) Enjoy quaint little pools in which to fish, awesome trails (bring yer camera & extra Batteries!)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a quite get away place”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice country area. Leaves , historical places. The old windmill, was really an attraction. Washington town was 20 min away . We went for a visit to the famous old army catholic church. If you're looking for a quiet place this is the right one for a get away.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park...just don't go during the summer.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We love going to Spruce Run, off season. The scenery is stunning, picnics are enjoyable and it is peaceful and serene. Sadly, once Memorial Day rolls around, we take a hiatus until Labor Day. The park gets supremely over-crowded with folks coming for day trips from city areas. Now, I lived in a city before I moved here. I like people. I like nature. I like people from cities. However, the mix of people that go here tend to be rude, obnoxious, LOUD and over-run the whole place. The swimming area looks like packed sardines, the people are miserable, radios are blaring full volume with owners competing to hear their own....it's just not enjoyable AT. ALL. There is garbage left everywhere, hot coals dumped all over the ground, used diapers in the lake and on the beach....just disgusting. It makes me so sad that what should be a beautiful day out for everyone, is ruined by some of the people that choose to visit. So, if it's September to May...enjoy a great day out. If it's June, July or August...I'd go elsewhere!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank aimathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Run Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Spruce Run Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing