We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”
Review of Clinton House

Clinton House
Reserve with OpenTable
Clinton House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had dinner early on a Friday night in early March. We'd never been there before and came primarily so that my hubby could taste their turtle soup. He was not disappointed, and said it was among the best he's had (the large decanter of sherry with which it was served definitely influenced his rating, I'm sure). We both had seafood entrees, which were delicious and abundant--we took half of each portion home. The desserts were very good--especially the one similar to chocolate lava cake, a favorite of mine. The ambience was pleasant--we were seated near the fireplace which was on that evening.
The negative? Although I'd read some reviews that said they would accommodate some special requests, that was not the case. I asked to substitute some additional vegetables for the rice that was included with my entrée, and was told that was impossible--I could get some kind of potato, but if I wanted a vegetable I would have to order it as a side dish.
My husband also would have preferred more vegetables (we almost always request this wherever we go--and are usually accommodated with no problem). The server also seemed to have a "take it or leave it" attitude about this, as I stated that my disappointment that they would not allow such a minimal substitution. I expected better of a restaurant that is on the pricey side to begin with and would have given a higher rating if not for this issue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CACAFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    76
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Trip to Clinton”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you've never been to Clinton, NJ, getting a meal at the Clinton House is a great reason to go there. The Clinton House has an array of entrees and you won't be disappointed, no matter what you order. And if you ask for Carol as your waitress, you will get exceptional service with a smile and a little sassiness on the side. Everyone treats you like family and the atmosphere is fine. There is usually very nice live entertainment on Sunday afternoons to accompany your meal. We have never had a meal that was not wonderful and they will even make exceptions if there is something special that is needed. Oh, and their on-site bakery is to die for! Lots of wonderful breads and desserts! It is a little on the pricey side, but the food and service is well worth it. Sit back and ENJOY!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanCK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann P, Manager at Clinton House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us and we had to reply to your comment regarding Carol. The side of sassiness comment has made our day and is so spot on!
Best Wishes,
The Clinton House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Headed out to Clinton on Saturday to break up the monotony of a grey winter day. On the drive, I started checking out restaurants on TA on my iPad and made a reservation just in case there was a crowd. The crab cakes recommended by our waitperson were fabulous as was the stuffed shrimp and the cream of asparagus soup. Had to take desert to go and it was well worth it - chocolate lava cake with raspberry sauce. If that weren't enough, we went to the bakery and picked up more chocolate delights. A great dining experience for these first timers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My husband and I drive 1 hour on our birthdays to dine at the Clinton House. The Sauerbraten and Lobster Newburg are the best I ever had. Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. Lovely town to walk through after dinner. A great place. One of our favorites

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great place to enjoy a steak. Also an amazing bakery.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Excellent steaks and an impressive menu. They also have an impressive bakery. I have been there often. Great bartenders. Excellent service staff. Great food. Nice crowd at the bar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Satisfaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clinton House also viewed

 

Been to Clinton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing