We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is top-notch”
Review of Clinton House

Clinton House
Reserve with OpenTable
Clinton House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food is top-notch”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the Clinton House for many years - it's always busy and you can count on the food being phenomenal - albeit a bit pricey. But it's worth it. Saturday night we popped in and ate at the bar - I'm doing a very restrictive diet and of course, they were completely accommodating. Had a delish salmon filet with a tarragon cream sauce and extra veggies, no starch. Yum. Hubby had their version of buffalo chicken tenders which he said were excellent as well. We entertained another couple and our friend from the U.K. back in June and had more of a formal meal - everyone was very pleased with their food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgbaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    76
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We ate at the Clinton House with business colleagues last week. The whole dining experience was first class. You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive and nothing was too much trouble. The waitress who served us gave a list of salad dressings but the one I really wanted (raspberry vinegarette) was not mentioned. 'No problem' she said..'I make a great raspberry vinegarette so I will make you one'. It was sublime.

The entrees were awesome. I wanted my Filet Mignon cooked 'Pittsburg style' and it was done to perfection. The food was of the highest quality.

The building itself dates back over 100 years and it has a wonderful ambiance.

Finally, Bass beer on draught - what more can I say?

A really wonderful place to dine. Highly recommended by one slightly overweight UK food lover! I will return when I'm next in the USA.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarrynEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Twp, NJ USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT as always!!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Mother's Day dinner was excellent...food excellent, service excellent, atmosphere excellent...great day!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank speechlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Huge, flavorful prime rib for my wife and i had an equally great fliet mignon. Great setting in an established restaruant. no cheap, but price in line with quality service and food. traveling from NC to ME

Helpful?
Thank zoomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional & Fabulous Old School Food; Not Formal”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great traditional food (very rare today) in a nice historical setting. Menu like the fine old restaurants of yesterday and totally professional service (not at all like when your server says their name and "I am here to take care of you" and then they don't.) Anyway, old school but not too formal, just East Coast small town but really great food. They do not have to reinvent their menu every night with farm to table B.S. but just have the fresh blue crab cocktail with no ice beneath just more crab! Fantastic and one order served 3 of us. The filet fixed any of their several ways is fabulous; best filet in years: very thick with an incredible crust and rare inside and all of optional sauces great! Can't wait to return on our next NYC trip and stop by for many more great dishes to try: Beef Wellington (who even does that anymore!) etc. etc. etc. Go Clinton House & don't change!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee-Bone-Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clinton House also viewed

 

Been to Clinton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing