We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, average room, bfast so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Clinton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Montreal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, average room, bfast so-so”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Well, one thing I can say is the staff is friendly. Rooms are better than average. However, the breakfast left my stomach in ruins. Next door is the cracker barrel...go there for bfast. The location is good, but it's easy to get lost (for those expecting highway signs).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    157
    60
    32
    32
See reviews for
186
106
40
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Needed a place to stay two nights after closing on my house,I lived in town. For $145 dollars a week day night there should a little more room to walk around our hotel room. After pulling out the bed from the couch we were tripping over our luggage and you had to sit the beds I almost put the chair that was for the desk out in the hallway. the ice dispenser by the elevator had zero ice both nights had to have room service deliver it to me waited almost an hour. Second morning the 6am breakfast they raved about to us that was free didn't show up till after 7 and it didn't seem to bother them that there were about 10 people who were inconvenienced because now they had to go somewhere else. Staff was friendly otherwise rooms were clean beds comfy but for $145 it should be better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lurehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is not the newest Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in, but it was clean and provided the experience I expected from a HI. We arrived late and left early, it was a place to sleep and have breakfast before heading out.

My only complaint was that the air conditioning was extremely loud, which was not really pleasant as it was running all night. I don't know if that was specific to the unit in our room, or if all of the units are like that.

The breakfast was nice, and the breakfast area was light, airy and spacious -- always a plus, as every setup is a bit different and sometimes it can be a bit tight.

There's a Cracker Barrell nearby, and a Target and other stores, which is convenient, and access to I-78 is easy on-off. Having stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn and this Hampton Inn, I'd say the Hampton is the better value, by a hair.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area, all of the rooms are probably comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MariaSilvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed as the place does not require a pet fee for furry friends. Clean and convenient to 78, the rooms had smaller beds, listed as queens but really a double. Nice breakfast in the AM. I was sad to hear they may not allow pets in the future. It's so hard to travel with the pup. Overall an excellent stay with the nephew.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squinn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here on our way north to NY from Princeton. The hotel is what you expect of a typical Hampton Inn in a somewhat aging property. No complaints there. If you know what Hampton Inns are generally like, that is what you get...decent beds, good breakfast, newspaper, etc. Price was reasonable at $120-130 since this is not a major metropolitan area. As some other reviewer said, we had some minor problems with Internet too.

When we left, a daughter left one of her shoes in the parking lot, which we did not discover until we were hundreds of miles away. Called the front desk and was told that they could not go into the parking lot to look for it as they were not allowed to leave the desk unattended. Instead connected us to house keeping where we left a message. Within 24 hours Linda from housekeeping called back. She went out and found the shoe, and was kind enough to put it in the mail, free of charge, to our home. This was way beyond the normal call of duty. Greatly appreciated! Customer service at its best!! I relate this because some other reviewer wrote about an inattentive front desk person. We didn't have any problems with front desk service, and Linda of housekeeping was great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHNAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Good resting place location for drivers tired of I-78 traffic. Right beside a Cracker Barrel. Evening desk clerk made us feel at home right away. We asked for a refrigerator and had it in a snap. Good continental breakfast to send one on the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank editor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
448 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We did a stay over here before enterring NYC. The parking lot is great with many handicap spots in front. The room's A/C unit was slightly noisy, the beds were ok.

The bathroom had some black mold growing around the bathtub. Is housekeeping blind? All it takes is some bleach to kill it. Before this issue gets worse, the hotel management better take some action. Maybe inspect the rooms after cleaning and ask why housekeeping did not correct this issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PropellerJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Lebanon
Courtyard Lebanon
#1 of 1 in Lebanon
160 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
HYATT house Branchburg
HYATT house Branchburg
#1 of 5 in Branchburg
377 reviews
12.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bridgewater / Branchburg
14.7 mi away
HYATT house Bridgewater
HYATT house Bridgewater
#1 of 6 in Bridgewater
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Clinton

Property: Hampton Inn Clinton
Address: 16 Frontage Drive, Clinton, NJ 08809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Clinton welcomes guests with warm-from-the-oven cookies, lemonade, and comfortable overstuffed chairs to enjoy them in while resting in front of the crackling fire. Like the charming, Victorian town of Clinton, the hotel is full of hometown friendly hospitality. Lining the nearby historic streets are wonderfully eclectic boutique shops and designer stores. The Red Mill and Raritan river create a picturesque landscape that has insipid artists for over a century. The backdrop is sure to inspire a picture taker or two. The Hampton Inn provides business and leisure travelers alike with the opportunity to escape the hectic pace of large cities and spend some time relaxing in the perfect American hometown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Clinton Hotel Clinton
Clinton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing