We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent, but expensive stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Clinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Clinton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A decent, but expensive stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Had the opportunity to spend a week in the area on family business and selected the Hampton Inn again. Stayed here a number of times and have found it quite consistent. Excellent breakfast, clean rooms, but starting to get a little shopworn...not bad, just starting to show its age a bit. During our stay, it was heavy with crews from power company, due to storm clean-up. Overwhelmed the place, and our reserved room preference was not available for several nights. Had called direct to reserve and tried to negotiate a multi-night rate, found out later that our "best" rate was well above the walk-in rate for a single night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VWHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    155
    59
    31
    30
See reviews for
183
105
40
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I booked a 1 night Saturday stay for my sister and I the day before. We were going to a funeral in Clinton. The other hotel had no availabilty. I had read reviews for the 2 Clinton hotels. We initially booked a King with a pull out sofa. I asked if there was any chance for 2 beds. Not at that time but check when we arrive. They were able to accomodate us with 2 double beds. We were on the 4th floor which is part smoking. There was some cigarette smell in the hall but our room was just fine. The room was clean, breakfast area was well stocked and worked well for us. There is a Cracker Barrel right next to the hotel as well, you can walk to it. We spent a fair amount of time in the room and we were quite comfortable. We had no problems and we had a very pleasant stay considering that we were there for a funeral. Staff was friendly and helpful, no complaints. I did notice that there were at least two luggage carts available when we checked in. Our only problem were some late check ins, they were in and out of their room several times after 11pm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAG39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Fake down comforter very lumpy. Asked three times for it to be replaced. Came in every night and it was still there. Expect better for
$150.00@ night. Mr. Hilton would not be pleased.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for a clean place to stay in the area. A bit pricier than I might have expected for the area, but the hotel appears to have been updated.
My son left his retainer in the room and they sent it to us on Monday. First time I have left something in a hotel and had it returned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RidgeRunner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

VERY poor value for the price. I have had better amenities and service at a $50 hotel (this one cost $105 at AAA rates). Staff has feigned friendliness but are indifferent and totally useless when the slightest problem arises- like having only ONE luggage cart for the entire hotel!!!!!! - and having to lug luggage for 5 people to our room by hand. I only ever saw ONE luggage cart during our entire stay - when I mentioned this to the front desk I got a blank stare and shrugged shoulders - like "whatever"! 3 of the 4 units in the exercise room were not working - just a coincidence for our 1 night stay - like the burntout light in our bathroom - need I go on ... it seems that maintenace at this hotel was a budget cut! Breakfast was OK at best - not what your would expect for a "full" breakfast.

I will never stay at a Hampton Inn again. Just for interest I stayed at LaQuinta and Drury the last few nights and got email satisfaction surveys from them - but not this Hampton Inn - why am I surprised :) My advice - stay somewhere else in this area - there MUST be be better value for the maney than this!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wfhyslop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

This Hampton Inn is older and thus not as modern as some newer ones but was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the amenities were fine. The room had a good-sized TV, free internet access, and a coffee maker. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was fine -- you could make waffles, there were several coffee selections, sausage, eggs, etc. The lady at the front desk was also responsible for organizing the lobby area and thus the front desk wasn't always staffed, but she was very friendly. Unfortunately, the walls were really thin and children running through the halls and a dog barking kept us up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanci_Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

They took care of me. Had a medical problem with a low sugar they open the juice machine and kept it open all night just in case i had any other problem's during the night. THANK YOU ALL for looking out for me. Mr&Mrs.Hendershot and again thank you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadnvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Lebanon
Courtyard Lebanon
#1 of 1 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
HYATT house Branchburg
HYATT house Branchburg
#1 of 5 in Branchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
12.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bridgewater / Branchburg
11.7 mi away
Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Clinton

Property: Hampton Inn Clinton
Address: 16 Frontage Drive, Clinton, NJ 08809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Clinton welcomes guests with warm-from-the-oven cookies, lemonade, and comfortable overstuffed chairs to enjoy them in while resting in front of the crackling fire. Like the charming, Victorian town of Clinton, the hotel is full of hometown friendly hospitality. Lining the nearby historic streets are wonderfully eclectic boutique shops and designer stores. The Red Mill and Raritan river create a picturesque landscape that has insipid artists for over a century. The backdrop is sure to inspire a picture taker or two. The Hampton Inn provides business and leisure travelers alike with the opportunity to escape the hectic pace of large cities and spend some time relaxing in the perfect American hometown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Clinton Hotel Clinton
Clinton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing