We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brunch with the family”

Clinton Station Diner
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Clinton
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
245 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“brunch with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

this past Sunday we recently got together with my husbands family for brunch at Clinton Station diner in Clinton,New Jersey this a half way meeting point with the family due to my husband's sister and daughter live in P.A. and the rest of us are in central NJ well breakfast was excellant Mostly everyone had eggs either scrambled or omelets my husband had the french toast which he said was very good the wait staff was very accomendating to us due to the fact we had a party of 10 which was very helpful they make there own bread there which is fanastic as they are know for their own baking which is done on their premises my husband loves their pies especially the key lime which of course he took some home from later

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    133
    71
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the consistant quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great place for any meal. Staff is friendly and inviting. Breakfast always comes with fresh fruit and the bakery is awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flavorsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Place was average with a somewhat limited menu,service was pretty much average but if you are hungry it'll do.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cucolio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“On the CNJ's Blue Comet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

While the building it's attached to has changed over the years, the ex-Central of New Jersey observation car that anchors the Clinton Station Diner, the Biela, has been a fixture along I-78 at Clinton, New Jersey, as long as I can remember. It was built in 1927 for the CNJ's Jersey City-Atlantic City train, the Blue Comet. While the diner is open 24/7, 365 days, the dining car closes daily at 8:00 p.m. It is worth planning to eat in the car. Elegantly appointed, it is decorated with dark wood paneling, subdued carpeting of tan/rust/black geometric shapes, a complimentary valence drape separating the white ceiling. To fulfill its mission of providing "Lots of Good Food," the menu sports literally hundreds of items, and promises they are "made from scratch," that the French fries are "hand cut from fresh potatoes," and that the "cakes and pastries are baked daily and the bread twice daily." Desserts alone total 46 entries. Beer, wine, cocktails, Sangria and Champagne populate the drink menu.

My benchmark diner breakfast - OJ, Western omelet, French fries, rye toast, coffee - was served promptly and hot. Perfect for kicking off my start home. The waitstaff was downright enthusiastic. My only quibble: Some of the French Fries were cut too large, and thus weren't hot all the way through. Breakfast is available 24/7, and everything on the menu can be made for take-out. I found myself wishing I could have lingered for the day just to enjoy lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Do not take your foot off the gas keep going exit at your own risk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Given this place 3 chances and each time lousy food and lousy service. I came here because my parents are elderly and live in the area so its easy to take them for lunch. Last time the hostess sat us in the corner which was quiet until they set up a table of kids and their obnoxious parents next to us???duh why couldnt they put them in that train room. They were like a bunch of animals (the parents that is). If you go here, Most of the food is questionable too. Id suggest you either get an omelette or burger something simple or keep on trucking. One more thing..its not that cheap for a diner either!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clinton Station Diner also viewed

 

Been to Clinton Station Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing