We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed with hotel”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I was very happy with our stay at this hotel. It was a little hard to find as the sign is not very tall, it is at the bottom of the hill next to the Shell gas station. There is shopping and restaurants next door. We were there to visit a very sick relative so it was not a happy trip. The bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping in my bed at home. If you want a fridge in your room you have to ask, no charge that was the only draw back that it was not in the room already. The breakfast had a wide variety of food and was well stocked. The front desk clerks were able to give great driving directions. I called from the highway for directions to the hotel coming in the first night and the desk clerks directions made it easy to find. It was quiet and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymuffsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    158
    101
    47
    53
See reviews for
208
74
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CINCINNATI
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Stayed for two nights. Rooms very nice. large and clean. Bathroom small but serviceable. Staff were great. Bus into NYC just blocks away. Takes 20-30 min into Port Authority bus terminal. Safe area to walk in. Got a great rate on Hotwire.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRKRUSLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2009

My employer has used this La Quinta Inn on and off for a year. I parked the company truck (with the logo and phone number) in view of the Inn's office and left with a co-worker to our job-site. Upon returning to our room later that afternoon, I discovered my driver's side window had been smashed and I had been a victim of theft. It had been estimated the break in had occured between 6 and 9 am. The truck ,with my phone number and company name clearly marked and parked within site of the office ,sat with a broken window and glass all around for nearly 11 hours. I am completely astonished not one employee noticed the after-math and alerted me regarding this. At some point in the day an employee had to have walked past my vehicle while on their way to the dumpster or someone had to have looked out a window. When your wallet is stolen and your credit cards are in the hands of a criminal every second counts! This hotel is completely lacking in customer service and simple human compassion. Considering my employer has been loyal customers for a year plus, it stings a little more. I will not subject my crew to these conditions or uncaring environment again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hound442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clifton hotels

Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at this hotel from November 06, 2008 to Nov.09.08. The hotel personnel were great. Friendly and very helpful. The rooms were recently renovated with new furniture and all. We had a king size bed that was the most comfortable bed ever. The room was spacious and clean.

The La Quinta is close to many restaurants which only require a short walk. Also, the bus stop to New York is very close and the bus ride itself is both quick and cheap.

I highly recommend this hotel as we had no issues what so ever and had a very good experience.

  • Liked — the comfy bed
  • Disliked — like everything
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingraysgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

Stayed there in September for a week because the prices of the hotels in New York were extremely high. We were very happy with the hotel, it is 5 minutes away from the bus stop, and the bus takes about 30 minutes to the city. We booked the hotel via Hotwire for about $60 a night.

The free continental breakfast was good, fresh fruit, bagels, waffles, toast, coffee, tea, juice and cerials. They only serve breakfast till 9.30 so we missed it a few times. The breakfast is the same every day, so we got a little bored, but overall it was good.

The room was great and very clean, though the maid didn't change the linens during our one-week-stay. The bathroom was small but very clean, the wireless lan was working good.

The people at the front desk were always nice and helping. At the last day, when our flight was supposed to go at night, they offered to store our luggage for a day.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everybody who does not mind to live away from the city. Besides the bus there is a train going via Secaucus Junction to NYC, the train station is 10 minutes away from the hotel.

  • Liked — The cheap price, the clean rooms and the nice staff
  • Disliked — The location is next to the highway (which is great when you have a car)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYCFan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2008

I would not recommend this hotel. On arrival (which is not easy even with their directions) the receptionist was surly and unsmiling. The non-smoking king bed room I had booked was not available and I was allocated a non-smoking double, which stank of smoke. The wireless internet signal was too weak to connect, and when I queried this I was told that only the smoking rooms have wireless access. So I asked to see a smoking room, thinking it couldn´t be much worse than where I was, but sure enough although the internet access was better it really did smell bad. The rooms themselves are reasonably sized and equiped, although my phone didn´t work properly and the furniture was bashed and seemed old. The corridors were littered with rubbish, including the end of a razor, even just after the cleaner had been, and everywhere there was an unpleasant smell. The swimming pool itself was OK, but no showering or changing facilities in the proximity. Breakfast consisted of stale bagels, cheap cereal, or hard boiled eggs. The most worrying thing though was the lack of security - people seemed to be coming and going through side fire escapes all the time, and both me and my colleague had people banging on our doors in the night. This may be because about half of the hotel is used a student dorms, and posters for student parties adorn the corridor walls. All in all, an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bcnhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

A cheaper alternative to staying in Manhattan particularly as the UN was in session, driving NYC prices into the stratosphere. For those who expect a 5* hotel, don't stay here -- it is still pretty basic lodging. However, the hotel has been completely renovated over the last year. The room and bathroom were very clean. The king sized bed was new and comfortable. There was a fridge and microwave and coffee maker in the room. Breakfasts were adequate and included-- cereal, fruit, muffins, bagels, make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, coffee and tea. Parking is free and relatively secure. The hotel is 1/2 a block away from a decent shopping plaza with a Target store, supermarket, 3 restaurants (mexican, italian-american, and an Applebee's), a large AMC theatre and various smaller stores. Clifton is close to the Seacaucus outlet stores as well. The bus to Manhattan (#192) is very handy (a 5 minute walk from the hotel) and goes through the Lincoln Tunnel to the Port Authority Bus Terminal on 42nd street in less than a 1/2 hour even in rush hour. Check the schedule if you are staying late in Manhattan as the bus stops early on weeknights and you have to take the train. Area is pretty safe with lots of young families with kids so walking at night is not a problem. Front desk staff was corteous and helpful. For some reason GPS's can't find the hotel. Enter the address of the business directly behind the hotel--77 River Street-- to locate the hotel!

  • Liked — friendly service, fast access to Manhattan, good price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in West Orange
524 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
Address: 265 Route 3 East, Clifton, NJ 07014-1905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton Hotel Clifton
La Quinta Inn And Suites Clifton
La Quinta Hotel Clifton
La Quinta Clifton
Clifton La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing