We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff is very Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Findlay,OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff is very Helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

This hotel is a great place to stay to avoid the high prices of some of the downtown Manhattan hotels. STaff has been courtesious and the main thing is that the hotels is only about 15 min drive to get to the heart of Times Square theough the Lincoln Tunnel.

The IHOP restaurant next door to the hotel is excellent as well.

Would like to go there again.

  • Liked — Restaurant next door and the the staff
  • Disliked — almost everything is good ....nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mcscyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    60
    96
    82
    126
See reviews for
123
74
44
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed at in my life. The rooms are nasty and smell horrible, there are huge holes in everything (chairs, blankets), disturbing stains on the ceiling!!, fist-sized holes in the doors, disgusting carpeting and all-around just a bad scene. I was actually scared to stay there, especially with all of the signage that reads "We are not responsible for stolen property" and "We strongly advise against the use of debit cards to pay for your room." We stayed here for just one night and I could not wait to get the hell out of there. When we checked out the next morning, an extremely irate guest stormed in as he needed an iron that worked. He had been in 4 different rooms since he checked in the night before and he was screaming at the top of lungs, "This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in!" and I had to agree! The previous day, my husband went to iron a shirt and the ironing board completely fell apart when he opened it. That was nothing compared to the scene at this hotel, though. Do not stay here. It's the worst hotel ever.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KMC2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Howard Johnson at Clifton.
We chose this hotel because it was convenient for the World Crossbow Championships which were being held in nearby Bloomfield. The GB team
all stayed there, plus some other teams.

On the whole it wasn't nearly as bad as painted by some reviews. Yes, it's on Route 3 so it is quite noisy. But our room was very quiet - the only time we were disturbed was by another hotel guest down in the car park, having a loud mobile conversation at 5 am! We
soon put him straight!

The room was spacious - 2 double beds - air conditioning was good but
noisy. There was a big TV, coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was adequate. Good shower, and clean towels every day. The beds were changed every day. #

You can hire a hotel right there in the hotel. There is a small hotel
swimming pool. There is a computer in reception with free internet access.

There is an AMC cinema complex a few minutes' drive way, with restaurants, shops etc. Very cheap prices at the cinema.

The IHop diner next door was very good - friendly, courteous staff, nice and clean, aircon, good food (huge servings) and inexpensive. There is a Tick Tock Diner five minutes' walk down the road, and TGI's ten minutes' walk away.

There is a Suzy Sez right next door, with incredibly cheap prices for ladies' clothes, accessories etc. Approx half a mile away there is an Acme supermarket - not licensed for alcohol.

You can book onto the shuttle bus that goes into NYC, though we found the local buses were very good, and dropped you off at the bus station on 42nd street. Make sure you memorise local landmarks on the way back though - some of the bus drivers are a bit dopey!

My only criticisms were:

The reception staff weren't particularly helpful - couldn't/ wouldn't
give much advice about getting into NYC, local bus stops, supermarkets etc. We had to gather all of this information for ourselves. They couldn't provide directions or maps....

They arranged a taxi for us to get back to the airport but when he arrived, the price was ten dollars more than advised. The driver was [----] rude too.

The hotel appears to be run by a family - the younger ones doing the admin, with an elderly couple doing the cleaning and maintenance.

Afraid I can't say that the rooms were really cleaned during our stay. The beds were made, bins emptied, towels changed and toilet rolls provided, but I don't think any hoovering or cleaning took place.... Perhaps a dab round the bathroom but nothing very significant.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay there - for what it cost it was good value and comfortable.

  • Liked — Quiet room, good aircon, convenient for getting into NYC on the bus (20 minutes)
  • Disliked — Lack of cleaning, noise from Route 3
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallflower0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2007

don't stay in this hotel! i stayed here for 2 nights, it was a dump! my matress smelt like pee, no joke. it was the worst. it is located right near a graveyard, and the balcony had SO many locks(break ins?). and the worst part, the door couldn't even close good! don't stay in this hotel, avoid this at all costs. pay more and stay somewhere else, it will be worth the extra money. and it could take up to an hour and a half to an hour to reach NYC. NOT WORTH IT! GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

  • Liked — nothing, it was terrible
  • Disliked — everything!!! seriously
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank iambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petach Tikva, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

We stayed in the Clifton Howard Johnson three nights in early December, and experienced none of the problems encountered by the other reviewers. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortably appointed, and the staff was courteous and accomodating to our particular request. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2006

2 words Stay Away, One step up to Roach Motel. I must agree with all the negative remarks posted. I only stayed for 2 nights, one night I believe they where having a staff party in the basement till 3AM. Like if they rented out a hall for a party that night I stayed. I thought I was dreaming but after the party was over I saw people getting into thier cars and drove off from parking lot. I could'nt believe it.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tekcomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2006

This hotel is a dump. Everything is run down and in bad condition. It's only clean on the surface, but dirty in the corners. Yuk! The bathtub drain looked like some creature would crawl out from it. I was in the office two times for only 5 minutes each, and each time someone came in to complain. There is a section of new rooms, but I stayed in the older section. I can't believe that Howard Johnson lends it's name to this place. Don't stay here!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not clean
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lindylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
6.4 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
4.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 3 in Carlstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Totowa
Holiday Inn Totowa
#1 of 1 in Totowa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Address: 680 State Rt 3, Clifton, NJ 07012-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clifton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 3 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Super Bowl 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Clifton
Clifton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing