We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Reviewed January 3, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Farahnaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 424 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Never again am I staying in this dump of a hotel and I will make sure to tell all of my friends too. Went for a weekend to watch a football game and to say I was disgusted was an understatement. Mold in the bathroom. Wifi was a joke no matter where you were in the hotel. Room wasn't cleaned. Water was brown. The sliding doors had such a big gap on them that I can fit my hand through it. I can't believe head office has let this place get to the shape that it's in. All the locking mechanisms outside were broken so anybody could've walked into the hotel and have a field day breaking into the rooms!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hello Joe P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really apologizing for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel.

We have taken your comments very seriously, and have had our maintenance staff pay closer attention to this particular situation to fix it. Also, we have completely removed the mold from the bathroom. We apologize for the lack of internet connectivity, since we understand the importance of Wi-Fi in today’s days. We have invested heavily in a reputable internet service provider, and connection errors rarely occur. Perhaps, the web traffic was at its peak during the times you were looking to connect. We will continue to make sure we are able to provide good internet services for your next stay with us.

We do apologize for an unclean guest room, since it is not in our policy to leave guest rooms unclean and unfinished. Although many times as a manager and hotel team we are unable to notice these issues where our valuable guests are able to help us. We will pay closer attention to all of these items and continuously strive for improvement.

Please excuse us at this time as we are doing our best everyday to improve our service and standard of the hotel. We hope to see you again at our hotel soon. We appreciate your comments. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed one night over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. The room was fine, but in the morning my daughter could not find her phone charger and when she looked she discovered a roach on the floor. I would give it a "3" except for that. Wish I could give it a 2 3/4. Everything worked. The bathroom was clean. In fact the room was clean, except for the roach. A good point was that there is an IHOP attached, so a really good breakfast was available. The downside of that is there was no continental breakfast provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: As for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Nike C,

Thank you for writing a review in relation to your most recent stay at our hotel. I apologize very much for the incident in your guest room because finding such mistake is not in our style of hospitality. As a matter of fact I have inspected every room and diagnosed them as well, so there will not be a problem as there was this time during your stay.

On the other hand I appreciate all the kind words you shared in regards to your recent stay and hope that you will be able to provide us with a second chance at redeeming ourselves. Thank you again for writing this critical review so we can better our efforts in improving the service for you and other guests as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I needed a hotel for the weekend because my house was being renovated, and my family needed to relocate while the work was being done. I searched for a location that was close to my house for a reasonable price, and this hotel provided just what my family needed. I liked it because the other hotels in the vincinity was more expensive and have more amenities, but did not provide a microwave and a mini refrigerator which this hotel provided. Great location for shopping and dining within walking distance.

Room Tip: Good value for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50bdaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello 50bdaygal,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly stay.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

1 when making reservation the national desks offer free continental breakfast ... This place does not offer breakfast not even coffee
2 the reservation desk also offers free newspaper ...not here
3 opon check in the room smelled like mold
4 the bathroom shower was molded in corners and around soup dish
5 the bathroom floor was stickey like someone spilled something on it
6 on checkout they charger $1.50 for a safe that we did not use they said they took it off the bill and printed us a receipt showing the adjustment... But when we received the bill it was back on
7 when I spoke to the manager about these issues all he did was refund $1.50 and offer me a 20% discount the next time we stay there...like I will ever be back there again what a waste of money this is not what we expected from Howard Johnsons

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank mikechir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hello mikechir,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

I do agree that, we do not offer breakfast in the morning but we do have complimentary coffee available 24 hours in the lobby. Also, there is ihop is connected with hotel.

We really apologize for the mold but we have completely removed the mold from the bathroom and around the soap dish. Also, we have re-inspected our other rooms and bathroom to totally remove the mold and had treatment for all the rooms. Many times it may be possible that our housekeepers have missed a few aspects but it is not in their routine to do so.

As for the safe charge, I want to reassure you that upon request, the management is able to remove the one dollar and fifty cent amount immediately without regret as long as the guest is able to alert us ahead of time.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Please excuse us this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our rooms here on now. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
6.4 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Carlstadt
282 reviews
6 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
556 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Address: 680 State Rt 3, Clifton, NJ 07012-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clifton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: $80 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 3 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Super Bowl 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Clifton
Clifton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing