We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tick Tock Diner

Tick Tock Diner
Ranked #9 of 189 Restaurants in Clifton
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Island,NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Its a small little diner that has good food. The people are nice and it is a very relaxed atmosphere. It was clean and not that expensive for a quick breakfast/brunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bearlady0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    115
    73
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maywood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I Love a Great Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We really enjoyed the Tick Tock! We were greeted with smiles by our host. Our waitress Wendy was an absolute doll. We split a macaroni and cheese dinner special that came with soup, salad and dessert. The salad was more than the usual meal accompaniment, it had lettuce, grape tomatoes, chick peas, olives, radishes, with many choices of dressing. My mother and I don't eat much, so we split the meal. There was more than enough for both of us. The food was delicious! We ordered the dinner special, an extra soup, two glasses of wine and the bill was $31 and change. We were there for about an hour and everything else that came out of the kitchen looked amazing. We'll be back!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MethuselahSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service, still worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Typical diner experience. Fast, efficient, and good food. Had the reuben which was awesome, my gf had the miami katz which was better! server and host were cordial and nice. Food came out quick. The quality of food and speed of service make it a definite spot I'll stop by again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Typical Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were in the area and being total Guy Fieri fans we decided to check out Tick Tock diner for breakfast. Nothing exceptional about it. We were seated by a hostess who had the "I couldn't care" attitude, the table was not set (did not have napkins/silverware), the server stopped by after 5 minutes to say hello and say he will be with us soon. He came back, we were ready to order. He brought our coffee but we still didnt have a spoon so we grabbed 2 set ups from the table next to us. My husband said the sweet & low/sugar's were all wet, again, we had to grab another from the adjacent table. Enough on the type of service- The food; typical and heading towards COLD, so it was already away from "warm"...we both asked for very well done home fries. As you can see from my picture, they were anything but. And, we think this is a very easy request. We didnt find anything special about Tick Tock Diner. Totally just average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruiseChatterDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have going to this diner for years - anything I order is good, service is friendly and quick no matter how busy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tick Tock Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing