We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sign, otherwise not so great...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tick Tock Diner

Tick Tock Diner
Ranked #9 of 188 Restaurants in Clifton
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westchester County NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Sign, otherwise not so great...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This diner was on my want to go to list because I like the sign, I did not know the extent of the restoration, although it is pretty well done. The sign is great, the food was average to poor, way overpriced, bland. Fries were served cold, iced coffee tasted like soap. My son's 16 dollar steak sandwich was SUPER tough. I assume Guy's visit is what keeps the place hopping. God bless 'em. they won't miss me never coming back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank russrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    110
    73
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The quintessential Jersey diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a lifelong resident of the Garden State -- the diner capital of the world -- I have been to many of our fair state's diners. The Tick Tock Diner is one of the best in the state.

But don't go there expecting the Ritz. It's still just a diner. But the food is good and the prices are reasonable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scooter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Diner all night Very Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Huge Menu, great , fast service all diner favorites and more, desserts are awesome. Love coming here on my way back from NYC or after Meadowlands sporting events!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobinK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced diner food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

people seeking the true diner experience should probably avoid the tick-tock. The quality isnt bad, but the prices are high for diner, and the aambuiaance is that of a huge dining room rather than the sheltered booth or stool feel of a true diner. As always, when visiting - i would stick with breakfast.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food is okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

People rave about this place, but in NJ, it's not that hard to find a good diner. This is on Rt3 (West) so easy to find. Clean, Food is good, Service is good. But nothing special. If you are in the area, and are hungry - then stop in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirlTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tick Tock Diner also viewed

 

Been to Tick Tock Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing