We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dog in the area”
Review of Hot Grill

Hot Grill
Ranked #5 of 193 Restaurants in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Dog in the area”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My favorite dog. Gotta get one "all the way". IMHO best dog in the area including Rutts Hut.
Also love their fries with gravy and roast beef sandwiches.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    42
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“You gotta eat here at least once in your life”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hot Grill is a local institution, complete with the old world mayhem of ordering, lots of yelling (by the order takers) and just a unique place to eat. I don't understand it, but they always seem to get the orders right. Roast Beef Platters, Fries with gravy and the dogs are the best. You don't want to make a habit out of it, but sometimes you just have to have it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rchrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best...place...ever”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I moved from NJ when I was a kid, but every time I come back Hot Grill is a must. You can't get a better chili dog and gravy fries anywhere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 455dands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Better than Rutts Hut”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

As a lifelong resident of Clifton, I've gone to both Rutt's Hutt and the Hot Grill. I can honestly say that the hot dogs at the Hot Grill are much, much better than Rutt's Hutt. I'm not sure why Rutt's is so popular, but if you want to taste a better hot dog, try a Hot Grill dog all the way (mustard, onions, chili). You can't beat it. Add some fries with "sauce" (i.e., chili), and you have a delicious meal. Sorry Rutt's, but for this Cliftonite, the Hot Grill is the only place I go for a hot dog!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swinsonm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fast food but better”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best Texas wieners and fries with gravey. Gotta order 2 or 3, 1 is not enough add a milkshake. Best lunch going.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommygunn923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hot Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing