We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad, The Ugly”
Review of The Shannon Rose

The Shannon Rose
Reserve with OpenTable
The Shannon Rose is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 193 Restaurants in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad, The Ugly”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Good: Much better than average bar type food, e.g., Irish Spring rolls, Shannon Rose burgers, Shepherd's Pie, etc, ALL very good. So is the Assistant General Mgr., Scott.

The Bad: They allow smoking in their outdoor dining area which is an immediate No Go !!

The Ugly: Our waiter...got the order wrong (left out one of the three dishes - d-uh), did NOT bring silverware or napkins and then argued with us when he brought the wrong change. He said that it's their policy NOT to return coins...so that if the bill is $24.07 (our case) they round UP (in their favor, of course) and make it $25. I hope he enjoyed they 93¢ tip because that is all he got. We'll probably return but will strictly avoid this particular employee. You readers, on the other hand, will not know the person in question. Good luck!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doherty E, Guest Relations Manager at The Shannon Rose, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Jeffery, so glad that you enjoyed the food during your most recent visit to the Rose. We regret that our server could not get your order correct and further that he did not provide the correct change. If you by any chance remember your server's name and could let us know who it was, we would appreciate it. We can assure you that it is definitely not our policy to round up when making change, guests should be given correct change for all transactions. In terms of the smoking on our patio, we have pained over this for a number of years. We will reevaluate this standard next summer when the spring approaches and perhaps make a change based on what our guests are looking for in an outdoor dining environment. Thanks again and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    20
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food. Decent nightlife.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Happen to stop here after a few hours at a bar with a lady friend. Place was busy. Still was able to get a table and order some appetizers. On weekends the restaurant turns into a nightclub. The age group varies as the night progresses and the kitchen stays open late.

Helpful?
Thank Rawldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Attention to detail please!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We came here for a family/friends evening becaus it was local. I would have rated this one star higher but for a lack of attention to detail. On the plus side there is a very wide and varied selection of beers. The service was prompt and friendly and the food was tasty for a chain. The faults we in the each course came with things missing or in error that needed to be changed and thus spoilt the dining experience. Examples would be the wrong fries with the burgers, missing vegetables and additional items coming well after the dishes had been served. A few minor niggles that made a possibly very good meal a little worse.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
215 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food is ok and what you'd expect at a chain type restaurant. Drinks are good and always cold and fresh and the service is always welcoming. Place has many different events and for St Pattys day they have a huge party blowout. I come here every other week for lunch with friends and its always a good time without breaking the bank.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MysteryEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Shannon Rose-Best Irish Pub”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great atmosphere, fantastic food served by friendly and competent staff. Bartenders are amazing. All around great place that is both family friendly and a fun place for friends to get together

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shannon Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing