We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly 50 Wines by the Glass Paired with Tapas”

Spuntino Wine Bar & Italian Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Spuntino Wine Bar & Italian Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 189 Restaurants in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Ave
Description: The place for Italian tapas small plates, hand tossed pizza and world class wines.
Mine Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nearly 50 Wines by the Glass Paired with Tapas”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Like the nicely-designed space and the inviting, spacious lounge.

Spuntino offers an extensive wine list with nearly 50 wines by the glass, 100+ Italian wines and a reserve wine list with top names.

The menu features tapas, small plates, meant for sharing. The portions are bigger than you'd expect for tapas and delicious.

Solid choices are the Salumi and Formaggi plates served with perfectly grilled crostini, the bruschetta with ricotta cheese and roasted grapes, the Arancini, the spicy meatballs, perciatelli con pesto pasta and the INCREDIBLE and meaty Salumi pizza topped with Prosciutto, crumbled sausage, Capocollo and Cacciatorini.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodwinechickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Italian wine”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Ive been three times and each time I left with the same impression. I absolutely love their all Italian wine selection I haven't had a bad glass yet. Unfortunately the food is only ok. it's not as hot as I would like and the dishes aren't anything special flavor wise. It's fun to be ale to try a few things and the food bill is usually only a few more dollars then the alcohol bill, but I think I'd rather go sit at the bar and drink wine and get gellato. The gelato is delicious. My husband got chocolate with amaretto on top and the whip cream is so fresh tasting. It's actually a shame the food isn't better because this place could be great.

Helpful?
Thank Jerseylili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow, an absolute must-go!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant...from the atmosphere to the food choices to the value, absolutely splendid.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bgt1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cagedmonkees
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Italian hors o'deurves”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Hidden away in Clifton, nj is Spuntinos. This is my second visit to the restaurant, and although it can be pricey the food is good. Everything is served appetizer style to be shared among your table guests. Service is quick and attentive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cagedmonkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tiny tapas”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Overall it was good although a bit expensive.Service was good but a little overbearing and I really hate it when they take my wine glass before the wine is finished. We also had to wait for the manager to fix our bill which was over by $10.00. They are new so maybe this will improve. They had over 100 different wines but they were all Italian so that was a drawback for me.Nothing against Italian wine but it was supposed to be a wine bar and I would have liked different options. Also $15 for a glass of Chianti is a bit ridiculous. And yes I know it is tapas, but I am not sure the size of each dish is worth the price. If you are a fan of Spanish tapas, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bucketlisttours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spuntino Wine Bar & Italian Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Spuntino Wine Bar & Italian Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing