We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Italian restaurant in Clifton”

Matthew's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 220 Restaurants in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed May 3, 2019

Matthews is a very popular Italian restaurant in Clifton conveniently located off a exit of Rt. 3. It has a large menu for lunch and dinner and everything we tried was excellent. The service was friendly, attentive and efficient. The portions are large, so you may expect leftovers worth bringing home.
The parking is very limited, the restaurant can get very busy even during the week and since it is relatively small, can get loud.
But, overall it is an excellent experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank riny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 215 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2019

I requested a reservation online for a large family meal after an interment at Immaculate Conception Cemetery. Our family was flying in from all over the country. I was very impressed that the owner called me right away and confirmed the reservation after offering his condolences several times. Matthew explained that there would be another larger group plus open tables which was of no concern to us but it was nice that he fully explained the size of the restaurant. The younger adults and children established their own territory at the table leaving the elder statesmen to speak freely. The staff was polite, polished and very attentive without ever being intrusive. Most of the adults ordered seafood and the respective meals were fresh and extremely well prepared. My mom always loved restaurants like this and she would have been very pleased that we were all fortunate enough to find Matthews and share quality time together as a family....thank you Matthew.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FarmingtonAttorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

The food is simple but well above average. Our meals were served hot and were presented with care. Quite a step above a typical strip mall pizza joint that serves dinners. Value was reasonable for the quality. The only downside is the size of the restaurant. It’s very small, tables are close together.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

Matthew’s has been open for about ten years. Through the hard work of Matthew and staff, it has truly become a staple of North NJ dining and a case study in how a neighborhood place becomes special to the community at large.

Matthew’s executes traditional Italian staples with their own flair that truly become pantheon standards. Try the veal rollatini and the chicken giambotta. And the weekly special soups. You will be hard pressed to find better - and find more fair pricing than at Matthews. It’s the one place that you could go 5 days a week and have something different each day.

The staff is wonderful and treats first timers like they e been coming in for a long time.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

I had not been to Matthews in about 5 years, so we decided to try it as everyone raves about the food. First and foremost the service is very good and the owner is involved at all times. This is a very “cozy” restaurant, yes it’s small but comfortable. Last night we had 2 appetizers, 4 main courses and 2 deserts. The best dishes were the hot antipasto and the bananas foster for desert. As far as the food go’s it was decent. With so many good Italian restaurants in North Jersey there are better choices.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank robertfc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matthew's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing