We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I booked this hotel via my credit card rewards program at a great rate. The staff was very friendly. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable with micorwave, refrigerator and large flat screen TV. The lobby has really good coffee and computers and printer for no charge. The only issue was noisy people in the hallway late at night and in the morning, but that was not the hotel's fault.. They have a restaurant and lounge that I did not use. The location is suburban. There are a few restaurants a short drive away. Right off Garden State Parkway. 15 minutes from Newark Airport.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY11373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    118
    49
    13
    7
See reviews for
80
43
18
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This is my second home. I travel extensively between my home in Aruba and work locations in New Jersey, Baltimore, New Orleans and California. I have tried various hotels in the New Jersey area and after my first stay at the Crowne 4 months ago, I have not changed locations. My stays are at a minimum three weeks at a time and the hotel staff treat me like family. Most of the staff have been working there 20 years or more which says a lot about the culture and atmosphere of the hotel. The rooms are extremely comfortable, with flat screen TV, refridgerator, microwave and coffee pot and the maid service is outstanding!!They have an extensive dinner menu with various speacials each week and a great bar just off the lobby that caters to tourists, business travelers and even locals. The hotel is situated in a great location only 15 minutes from the Newark Airport just off the Garden State Parkway surrounded by a nice nieghborhood, parks and schools. Just up the street from the hotel you can find a Starbucks, Chilis, major grocery store, pharmacy and a Bally's fitness center which can be utilized for free when you show your hotel key. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as they are a great example of how a hotel should be run.

Helpful?
Thank roshamboAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JA Town
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I was relocating from Atlanta and stayed here while searching for housing. After my first stay, I stopped searching and just commuted back and forth. The service was excellent…..from the front desk, restaurant and lounge. The hotel is totally renovated and has a great location. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JASJATown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in the middle of December as a cheaper alternative to the centre of New York. Found travelling in/out of NY not too much bother although the road to the Staten Island Ferry had so many potholes I don't know how we managed not to wreck our hire car. The hotel is situated amongst a residential area - at Xmas time this was lovely as most of the houses were all decorated with lovely lights etc. There are several restaurants and stores including a Marshalls nearby, although I think you would be better to drive as you have to negotiate the freeway. All the staff we met were lovely, the hotel is well run and the beds and linens are good quality. Housekeeping was very efficient - never once did they harrass us to get into the room and our room was always cleaned for our return. I would return to this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Liked — The comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank readbe4ugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

Fine hotel, clean, friendly staff, well maintained. They just put new refrigerators and microwaves in all the rooms.

I've stayed a number of times for business, I book it using Priceline or Hotwire. They seem to be good about keeping the hotel full. Tour buses, business meetings etc.

Close enough to Rahway train station to use this as a base for going into NYC without the cost of NYC hotels.

Rahway river park is a short jog away so you can get some outdoor exercise.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarface87
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2008

The hotel was great, the staff was great. I loved that it was next to the parkway nd i could go wherever i wanted from there.I would definetly recomend to friends.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank scarface87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaClark, Reservations at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.We look foward to being your hosts again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We had to go to NYC fairly suddenly from Richmond Va. and the drive was going to be too much leaving fairly late in the day. We got two adjoining rooms through Hotwire for $69 each, which was an amazing deal. The rooms were large, the beds very comfortable and the bathrooms very nicely appointed. Didn't check out the restaurant exercise room or pool but they are available on site. Very easy drive into NYC from Clark. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Very clean nd comfortable, large rooms; close to NYC
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
3.6 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Riverview Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 4 in Rahway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Clark - Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Property: Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
Address: 36 Valley Rd, Clark, NJ 07066-1559 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Clark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Clark - Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning, full service, boutique-style hotel is an exquisite blend of modern luxury and impeccable service. We are conveniently located at exit 135 off the Garden State Parkway in Clark, NJ, with easy access to The City Centers of New York, Newark and all major attractions including the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and the Prudential Center. We are just minutes south of The Newark International Airport and just 2 miles from Rahway Train Station for convenient access to Newark or New York City Stay connected... with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Stay fit... choose from our state-of-the-art fitness facility or access to Bally s Total Fitness. Stay restful... our Sleep Advantage program goes well beyond the limitations of any other brand by creating the optimal sleep experience.Stay for convenience... a delicious meal, meeting or event is an elevator ride away. Stay confident...as our staff is well trained in the art of hospitality. Businesses: L Oreal, Conoco Phillips, Siemens, JP Morgan Chase, Schering Plough, Merck, Exxon Mobil, and Bank of America. Hospitals: Rahway, St. Barnabas-Union, Trinitas, JKF, and Overlook. Universities: Seton Hall, Rutgers, and Kean. Sneak nine in at nearby Hyatt Hills Golf Course with driving range and miniature golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Clark - Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Clark Hotel Clark
Clark Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing