We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Holiday Inn in Clark New Jersey was a pleasant surprise. They were Crowne Plaza when we stayed in November. They have recently become Holiday Inn.

Check in with R.J. was the same as before very efficient. He added the rollaway since our granddaughter decided to spend the night with us. Breakfast was so much better. We had the buffet and the omelette was one of the best..I neglected to get the cooks name. My husband had the pancakes and the sliced cooked fresh apples were excellent.. Much more efficient than November breakfast.

Fitness center could still use some fans..it was warm. Machines were all working

one morning we decided to have egg sandwich from the Hub the new fast snack adjacent to the front desk. Could not believe the quality of that...excellent. It was prepared in their kitchen and only downside it was too large.

Outdoor pool was perfect..very nice.

Raheel and Philomenia were helpful too. It was nice to see that Terrence was still there too.

Would consider this property if you didn't want to stay in Manhattan. Ideal for a group.

Beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: I have had rooms on all floors and have never noticed any difference. Rooms were cool in June and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshalnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 311 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

we should have stayed at kenilworth inn,but it was the worst hotel ever,so we booked 8 days at holiday inn in clark,wow...terence and all of the staff,made us feel almost like home...if we say`ed we were going somewhere the next day,they pushed notes under our door,timeplans for trains,what to do with children ect...absolutly perfect.great pool and gym,and the hub served great food.big smiles all of the time and service beyond everything...great.only thing which could have made it even more perfect,we did not have a car,so if you might consider to have bicycles for rent,it would be great...once again,thank you for a wonderfull stay,hope to see you all again.kind regards henrik and marcus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Was here for 4 days for work. The location is fine. Nothing great to boast off around the place. The hotel by itself is very nice and clean. Can definitely do with better lighting in the rooms though. The food is simply awesome. Three cheers to the head chef. However there isnt much variety with only one restaurant called the HUB ..with no room service. One has to place an order and pick it up once its ready which gets really tiring. The biggest plus point of this hotel however is the excellent team right from the manager to the people serving food at the HUB restaurant and the bar as well as the housekeeping. Simply 5 stars to the staff. They will try their best to help you and are very warm in general.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ishan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Now known as the Holiday Inn-- the renovations and upgrades to the building/staff are definitely better than what was formerly the Crowne Plaza!

Rooms are a good size. Sheets and blankets were clean. The mattress was comfortable. The bathroom was small, but clean.

With the construction, the inside/outside noise was loud; unable to hear the traffic on the highway though. Hotel provides plenty of parking. Check-in was fast; check-out was easy.

Breakfast is not included; and paying for it isn't much worth it. They have a "snack area" for pay near the front desk, where you'd be better off grabbing a granola bar or such instead.

Hotel has easy on/off access to the Garden State Parkway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monikaesu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel is no longer a Crowne Plaza - it has been "completely renovated" and is now a Holiday Inn (or something they call a "Hub Holiday Inn"). Room was clean and comfortable, service was good, common areas were nice. Breakfast not included so we didn't eat there. A quality chain hotel but nothing more. Good price for the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chandulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel when it was a Crown Plaza and now as a Holiday Inn. The lobby is more trendy than it used to be (I was happy with the old decor) but there's a larger selection of goodies to purchase and really is quite lovely. We were coming to NJ to see my mother...she died 3 hours before we arrived. There were no rooms available but I wasn't in the frame of mind to be driving so we decided to sleep in the parking lot and check in the following day. Around 10:30 a.m. I decided to take my chances and walked up to Terence, who was working front desk. I understood we were hours away from check-in time but explained my situation and asked if there was any chance of finding an empty room so we could shower prior to the funeral. Terence called housekeeping, hugged me while I cried and before I knew what happened we were checked into a lovely room. That man will be in my prayers the rest of my life. A 24-hour drive (only stopping for gasoline), night's sleep in the car and then a mother's day funeral. Overwhelming. It's still the same clean, comfortable, friendly hotel where I know I'll get a great night's rest. But it's more than that...it transcends corporate. From Maria the lovely woman who keeps my room shiny and clean to Terence, my angel of mercy. Every Holiday Inn employee I've met has been so warm and friendly. It's a place to sleep with a heart.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RZC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

About a 3 or 3.5. Nothing spectacular but nothing really to complain about. Not sure how they give some rooms the morning papers but omit others. Be prepared to wait for one of their only 2 elevators. One way I judge a quality hotel is if they have complimentary coffee....this place does not. We would stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
3.6 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
648 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
2.9 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
2 mi away
Watt Hotel
Watt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Rahway
11 reviews
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 5 in Rahway
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Clark - Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Address: 36 Valley Rd, Clark, NJ 07066-1559 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Clark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
Price Range: $99 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Clark - Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning, full service, boutique-style hotel is an exquisite blend of modern luxury and impeccable service. We are conveniently located at exit 135 off the Garden State Parkway in Clark, NJ, with easy access to The City Centers of New York, Newark and all major attractions including the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and the Prudential Center. We are just minutes south of The Newark International Airport and just 2 miles from Rahway Train Station for convenient access to Newark or New York City Stay connected... with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Stay fit... choose from our state-of-the-art fitness facility or access to Bally s Total Fitness. Stay restful... our Sleep Advantage program goes well beyond the limitations of any other brand by creating the optimal sleep experience.Stay for convenience... a delicious meal, meeting or event is an elevator ride away. Stay confident...as our staff is well trained in the art of hospitality. Businesses: L Oreal, Conoco Phillips, Siemens, JP Morgan Chase, Schering Plough, Merck, Exxon Mobil, and Bank of America. Hospitals: Rahway, St. Barnabas-Union, Trinitas, JKF, and Overlook. Universities: Seton Hall, Rutgers, and Kean. Sneak nine in at nearby Hyatt Hills Golf Course with driving range and miniature golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Clark - Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Clark Hotel Clark
Clark Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing