We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Northern Jersey”
Review of Scalini Fedeli

Scalini Fedeli
Reserve with OpenTable
Scalini Fedeli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Parrot Mill Road
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Northern Jersey”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is magical if you are looking to splurge and be pampered and taste some of the best Italian food west of the Hudson. The food, ambience, service are all excellent. It is not cheap, nor is the wine list, but save for those special occassions. Highly recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon772009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    27
    9
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occasion”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The service is top notch and highly professional. The food is excellently prepared and inventive, and nicely presented. The sauces are amazing. The Prix Fix is very reasonable for the high quality of the food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Scalini Fedeli is unmatched as a romantic dinner destination. Lovely meals with French accents and flawless service are served here even if the name is Italian. Flawless service and the veal, fish, chicken, in fact every entree we have ever ordered has been perfect. Save room for dessert, it is more than an afterthought here. This is a wonderful and discreet venue for a special anniversary or even a proposal !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A five-course steal for $54”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I've seen a few complaints about the cost of this restaurant but I've paid more in NJ for meals not nearly as high quality as I had tonight. The entrees were made with very fresh ingredients that were amazingly prepared. The sauces were what set off the evening and between the 4 main dishes my wife and I had, the flavors ran the gamut. I think I have a new favorite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyLScam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all respects”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have eaten at Scalini Fedeli in Chatham, NJ, three times now. It has always been very good, but our third and most recent visit was exceptional by the standards of high-end New York area restaurants. My wife and I had a total of six different dishes (2 starters, 2 mains, and 2 desserts), and every one of them was brilliant. The fact that only a prix fix menu is offered is a plus, and the Chatham, NJ, restaurant is a real bargain because it is significantly less expensive than the New York City restaurant ($54 vs. $70 for the prix fix as of March 2013). The service is first-rate. My only criticism is that this restaurant has too few meatless dishes because the chef has a tendency to put bacon or sausage in scallop and other fish and seafood dishes and to offer very few veggie dishes. But the few meatless dishes that are offered, such as the mushroom ravioli starter and the red snapper main dish, are very, very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NJChisoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalini Fedeli also viewed

 
Madison, Morris County
Madison, Morris County
 
Chatham, Morris County
 

Been to Scalini Fedeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing