We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of D'oro Ristorante

D'oro Ristorante
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

When a dining experience starts with at best disinterested service it is probably a sign that the experience as a whole will be less than satisfactory . It took almost 10 minutes of waiting for the waiter to take our order---- if the restaurant were crowded it might be an excuse but since we were dining at 6:30 and there were only four other tables occupied. There was an unusually lengthy time between all courses. I had one of the specials and there was nothing special about it--- the shrimp and scallops were over cooked and the sauce was tasteless. The other diners food was fair but not great. It took a long time to get the check and an even longer time to get it back-----something about a computer problem. Not once during the entire meal did anyone ask if we needed anything or if we were enjoying our meal. This is one restaurant that I will not try again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff & BYOB”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We're locals, and this is becoming our favorite place to go for a relaxing mid-week dinner, whether to catch up with friends or with each other. The food is good and portions are generous. Prices are market-based. Equally important to us is that the staff makes everyone feel welcome. Kids are welcomed, as are larger groups. Reservations are recommended, especially on Fridays & Saturdays, but not necessary on most weeknights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Don't let the title fool you, the restaurant is actually a nice place to eat. The service is cordial and the waiters always have a smile.
The ambiance is fine, casual but nothing to write home about. A bit noisy on a Saturday night, but what else would you expect when the food brings in the customers.
the four of us were celebrating Saturday night. Another dinner out. And they chose this restaurant based on their past visits.
We started with one caesar salad which was enjoed by the guest, and two other split a Pasta special. It came out just as they has imagined. THe other appitizer was a pasta with Bolognese which I tried and was really tasty. Entre;s followed with a Fish Special, Salmon and an Osso Bocco. THe Bocco was delicious, the meat falling off the bone, a nice pungent sause and the marrow was superb..
Desserts followed with some cannoli's and tartufo along with expresso's and capuccino's.
THe service was fine and the experience was enjoyable. THis is not an inexpensive restaurant, and the bill for the four of us was over 200$ without wine or drinks. Although the food was excellent, the comnpetition is a bit less pricey and just as good, so they need to be careful as to how high is high these days for a good meal.
Would I recommend, yes, but be prepared to spend the same.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passionrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great local restaurant. good prices, good service,”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It had become very popular. They are very accomodating. Sam, one of the owners, is everyone's friend. The staff is very nice, the food is good, the prices are in line. Always love BYOB.
The one thing I would say is that their desserts are not very good. They really need a pastry chef or a good bakery to supply better desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very nice local Italian restaurant”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The service and quality of food are the best aspects of this restaurant. There are too many tables squeezed in this restaurant and the noise level is very high. Salads, seafood, pasts, and Carney were all enjoyed by our table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'oro Ristorante also viewed

Chatham, Morris County
Chatham, Morris County
 
Chatham, Morris County
 

Been to D'oro Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing