We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Executive Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carteret
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed at the Carteret Radisson one night on route to visiting colleges in NJ and NY. It was convenient and exceeded our expectations. The number bed was a delight and the property was furnished tastefully, incluiding fresh flowers everywhere in the lobby. The desk clerk was very friendly and the attached restaurant was very good. We would stay there again, especially at the $119 price!

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — No refrigerator in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    116
    54
    37
    42
See reviews for
107
78
22
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

I was a bit skeptical after reading some reviews but stayed at the Radisson anyway. I'm gald I did. The other hotel in Carteret - Holiday Inn - is currently going through major construction around the entire hotel. It looked like a mess outside. Not that the Radisson is in the best location - the front faces the freeway - but it was very quiet inside. Room was nice and clean. We had the sleep number beds and to be honest - I wasn't impressed. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was good. We were the only ones in the restaurant at the time so the service was great and the people seemed very nice. I didn't think the prices were that bad actually.

We actually ordered breakfast via room service the next morning...a little expensive. We were traveling w/ a baby so it was the best option for us. Room service was pretty quick and once again, food was good. Vending machine (Pepsi) was pricey! $2 for a soda/water. There was a wedding reception in the hotel so I thought we may hear some of the party/people but we didn't. Hotel was very quiet during the night.
I will be staying here again if we go back to Carteret.

  • Liked — location, cust service
  • Disliked — the hair dryer in the room.....not powerful!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8dn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2008

This Radisson GAVE AWAY our confirmed, paid reservation and relocated us to a new hotel the first night of our stay. This is after I had called the hotel about five times prior to our arrival to confirm the reservation. That is not how a reputable business should treat customers. The breakfast service was poor, as was the service at the bar and grill on the hotel premises. I would definitely suggest staying at another hotel if visiting the Newark area.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank greatwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carteret hotels

CT
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2008

I recently stayed here using the park and fly program. The room was very nice and the staff friendly.
However there was one HUGE problem. They do not provide secure parking for you vehicle. We parked our vehicle for 11 days as part of the program. You just leave you car where you park it and take your keys with you.
I have used this type of program at other hotels and they take your car to a SECURED parking area where it is guarded and kept under lock and key.
Well guess what. Someone tried to break into my vehicle. I am now unable to open my driver’s side door from the outside. I guess I should just be happy that they were unable to get in or my vehicle would have been gone upon my return.
This area has one of the highest vehicle theft rates in the country. Not providing a secured parking area for this type of program is unacceptable.
If you want your vehicle to still be there when you return from your trip (or at least not damaged) do not stay at the Radisson Hotel Carteret.

  • Disliked — someone tried to break into my car while parked as part of the park and fly program!
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kentalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Radisson Carteret had a cruise/park shuttle program that I used in December on 12/2/07. Our drop off shuttle driver had alcohol on his breath. Our ship, the Explorer arrived late on our first day and arrived later on the last day to the port causing a tremendous traffic mess. Our driver said that he himself will not participate in the pick up process at the pier because of the traffic. The manager herself had to drive one couple as the shuttles were full. On our day to be picked up, we waited 4 hours for a pickup from the Radisson after hundreds of phone calls from the 28 cruisers waiting for pickup. The manager only arranged for 2 shuttles holding 8 passengers each that had to wait in hours of traffic to even get to the port. She knew this ahead of time, yet did not arrange for a shuttle/bus large enough to accommodate all 28 pax to be waiting at the port for us. We waited outside in 37 degree temperature for 4 hours. No lie. Some waited over 5 hours, we were more fortunate.
This manager never returned my email or phoned me. Corporate Radisson came thru with a refund of the shuttle portion of our stay and they were professional in every way. Because of the management at the Radisson Carteret not returning mail, email or phone calls, I say stay away from there.

  • Liked — The room was very nice.
  • Disliked — The manager.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank I_Stayed_Here09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

the hotel stay was fine at this hotel and it was convenient as we were flying out of newark airport. the hotel has a restaurant and a bar. our only real complaint was that it took the hotel shuttle almost an hour to retreive us from the airport and their airport shuttle only runs once an hour.  we have stayed at other newark airport hotels with much more efficient shuttle service. we would probably not stay here again because of the shuttle.

  • Liked — park and fly option
  • Disliked — slow airport shuttle
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2007

We stayed fie nights at the Radisson and we had a loely stay there. The rooms are very clean and quite, the staff is very nice. Just the lady that seats everybody at breakfast is not unfriendly but rude. The Sportsbar is fine, but in our opinion not cheap. The good thing is that they drive you for free to the busstop to N.Y. and to a giant outlet mall next to the airport, and they pick you up and drie you to the airport for free.
We felt very save there and enjoyed our stay a lot.
Thank you Radisson and merry chrismas!

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Waitress at breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annepeterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carteret
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carteret - Rahway
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
346 reviews
8.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Riverview Inn & Suites
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 5 in Rahway
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Executive Suites

Property: Hotel Executive Suites
Address: 30 Minue St, Carteret, NJ 07008-1105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Carteret)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carteret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carteret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Executive Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very convenient to New York City with complimentary shuttle service to NJ Transit Rail Station. Only 40 minutes to midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Carteret
Radisson Hotel Carteret
Carteret Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing