We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great, especially for proximity to NYC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great, especially for proximity to NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you're looking to be fairly close to the city and also want a nice, accommodating place to stay, I'd highly recommend this hotel. My husband and I were able to use our Hilton Honors points to get a discounted stay, but would be willing to pay full price otherwise.

Our stay there was pretty good overall. The hotel is quite clean - I inspected our room and it passed muster. The sheets were without blemish, the bathroom was cleaned really well, and there wasn't any dust anywhere in the room that I could see. There's also a continental breakfast that's got a lot of choices! Try to get a decent continental breakfast for the same room rate in Manhattan and you'll be outta luck. The staff was also very friendly and accommodating. The only instance where I felt wary was when a member of the housekeeping staff was cleaning a bathroom in another room and handed me some towels with her cleaning gloves still on! I accepted the towels graciously, but was horrified that she didn't bother taking off her gloves to hand me clean towels. Otherwise, the entire stay was restful and positive.

Just a tip about getting there: the turn off of the highway is easy to miss if you're not paying attention, and it's not easy to make a U-turn.

Room Tip: If you have time, head into neighboring Rutherford. It's a charming little neighborhood that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank resIpsaLoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    251
    52
    15
    12
See reviews for
348
179
30
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We had two adults and three children. Upon arrival, the room was ready for us as promised. The roll away bed was setup for one of our kids and it was very comfortable. The room was clean and well kept with no issues. The breakfast was as usual for the Hampton Inn. We arrived down to breakfast at 8:30 am and there were no breads etc left. The hotel was clean and well kept overall. The hotel was located a short distance out of NYC. We traveled into NYC by car in the morning around 9 am and missed most of the traffic. The hotel is in a great location...no concerns with the location. We would stay here again and recommend to families as an alternate to staying in the city limits of NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmitch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

From our check in, to the breakfast buffet, to our late check out- the staff was helpful and cooperative.

We stayed the Sat night before a Jets game at MetLife stadium, but we still got a decent rate. Room was clean, and the hotel is overall in good shape. Besides MetLife & the bus stops to NYC, there is nothing within walking distance- but you can reach the hotel quickly from NJ Turnpike, Route 3, or Route 17.

Breakfast buffet featured big NY style bagels- the highlight of the stay for us.

Look for a new fitness room soon, since it was under construction when we stayed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NATS_fan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for four nites. The hotel was very clean, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. It is in a very convenient location to get the bus into the Port Authority a block from Times Square. The bus was $8.50 round trip, most nites we came back after a Broadway show, which was around 11 pm, felt very safe. It was nice to have breakfast provided to start the day. The coffee was good. We found that there are 4-5 good restaurants in Carlstadt , not so much within walking distance, but it was easy to get to them since the hotel has a shuttle service that runs until 11 pm that will take you and pick you up, it was great. On the day we were leaving we found our battery dead, the staff were so helpful, especially a young man named Frank who came with his own vehicle to boost ours and stayed with us til we could get on our way. We had a truly great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Pretty expensive for a Hampton, but I get the rate premium you pay over a big game weekend.Best parts were the breakfast and the transportation to the stadium. Worst part was paying over $200 for a Hampton. Not a lot around, especially if you are thinking about dinner options. Next time,, I will probably choose a full service hotel like the Sheraton and pay the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolceG_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October while we were in New Jersey for a NY Giants Football game. The hotel is about 1/2 km from Met Life Stadium, which we had a wonderful view of from our room. The room was great - clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful giving us any information we needed. It's also a great spot if you want to visit NY City. The New Jersey transit bus stops right across the street. We got from the hotel to Times Square in less than 1/2 hour at 1:00 pm on a Saturday afternoon. The return bus trip to the hotel is great too as the drive drops you off right in front of the hotel. It's an ideal location if you're going to NY City. Parking is free and the hotel is far cheaper than anything you'd find in NY. The included breakfast was also good - waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, fruits, etc., far more extensive than a regular continental. They'll also give you a packed breakfast if you're on the run.

Hampton Inn will definitely be our first choice of hotels now, here and other parts of the country we visit from now on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close the Meadowlands (we were going to the Bruce Springsteen Concert) and because it seemed easy to get to NYC too! It was absolutely wonderful! This isn't the fanciest hotel, but we have truly never been at a hotel where each and every single staff member we met seemed to only want to help us. We called to confirm because we would be getting in late and the night staff member was helpful in letting us know how much a cab should cost from LaGuardia. The next morning we talked to a staff member about going into NYC and attending the Springsteen concert at night. She gave us so much great advice about how to get around the city via buses and trains, how to get to the Meadowlands if we were going straight from the city and how to catch the shuttle from the airport. The next person we talked to arranged for a car to get us back to the airport - very efficient! The room was clean - nothing special but very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlstadt
1.2 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Carlstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands

Property: Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
Address: 304 Paterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands Hotel Carlstadt
Carlstadt Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing