We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was clean and nice and a quiet stay and a clean room the sheets smell good anf clean the bed are reall comfortable its is pet freindly and i walky dog around the hotel people are nice there the hotel had good service with us and the tv serive is good and the room was a nice size and the bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jestevez18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a nice place to stay for a quick trip. Very reasonable rates and convenient for metro travel to Manhattan. We stayed two nights and it was worth not spending a lot of money and still get quality service. Polite staff, manager Raj was very accommodating.

Room Tip: We had a room on the inside and it was nice. A large group of youngsters can right before it was tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete TripAdvisor review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Eylem Naik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed there for couple of days. The room was neat and well maintained and the service and breakfast was good except one big issue.. Bed bug or insects.. I had lot of insect bites in my hands and legs, but it happened only for me and not for anyone in our family. So did not complain about this in the hotel. When I checked it with my doctor I came to know that bed bugs bite people who are really good in Vitamin B12 and that's the reason why its only me :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navanidhi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you had an insect issue during your stay. I would like to inform you that we had properly checked the room you have stayed in and the result is great, no bed bug. However, exterminator treated the room anyway to kill any insect that you were bitten by. Please do not hesitate to email me if you have any further concern, I will be more than happy to assist you in this matter.

Warm wishes,
Eylem Naik
eylem@econolodgemeadowlands.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My family stayed at the Econolodge in Carlstadt, New Jersey. My son left his backpack there and only realised when we were almost across the border into Canada. It wasn't a simple process to have the bag fedexed back and the hotel went above and beyond to help us out. From finding the bag and keeping it locked up (Raj) until we arranged the courier, to helping us with all the fedex paperwork and protocols (Suarez and Eylem). The manageress Eylem was honestly unbelievable, friendly and helpful as was Suarez at the front desk. I highly recommend this hotel. THANK YOU SO MUCH

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Nicolle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and got to see quite a bit of the facilities in that time.

POSITIVES: The room was well maintained, well decorated and kept reasonably clean. There was a odor in room 230 during our entire visit that we were not able to identify but we got used to that. We had special requests at the beginning of our stay and everything was in order and in place for our late arrival. Our check in was fast and courteous. Breakfast was beyond what we have found at other hotels of this name which was a nice change. The young lady working the breakfast shift is very helpful even going so far as making our waffle for us even when we didn't need the help. (She might want to ask before stepping in to help as we stay in 50+ hotels a year and know how to use the waffle makers even when they are broke like this one.)

The hotel isn't far from New York City so its price in either points or money is extremely reasonable for the area. The drive into the city can be difficult but it is New York City after all.

The staff is helpful and aware of what is going on throughout the property. While there, we noted a guest struggling with his lock. Before he could report it, the front desk had someone there to help him. Camera surveillance at its best.

It is VERY convenient to IZOD center, Meadowlands and other facilities in that area however it is not within walking distance.

NEGATIVES: Even though the room was in good shape, some parts of exterior public areas of the hotel need work FAST! The parking area is underneath the main part of the hotel. The ceiling in that parking garage is falling down. They need to either remove it or replace it before it falls on a guests car and they end up in an argument over who pays for the damages.

No elevator.

The rooms we saw had direct access to either the atrium, where breakfast is served or the exterior corridor. The hotel is on a VERY noisy road and in those rooms with exterior corridors, the unceasing noise level can be disrupting. We ran the heater fan the entire time so at least it was muted somewhat. There is nothing the owners can do about the noise but it is just something to be aware of before you book.

The stairs from the parking garage to some of the rooms and the outside walkways could use a thorough power washing. Repainting some of the areas wouldn't hurt either. Since the rooms are in good shape, it's time for them to turn their attention to curb appeal.

There is no restaurants in the immediate area. There is a gas station with a small convenience store across the street. There is nothing within walking distance.

Overall, we would stay here again if on a tight budget for a trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an atrium entrance away from the breakfast area for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying here recently at this location the last few weeks and it is a very pleasant stay for a budget hotel. The rooms are always very clean. The front desk staff is very accommodating and Raj always greets you with a smile and is very pleasant to deal with. I highly recommend as a hotel just 20 minutes outside of NYC

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

First, if you're unaware of how expensive the hotels are in the NYC area, do a quick search. Most hotels that are very well-reviewed are over $299 / night.
This property is not a luxury hotel.
But it is very well done.
Room was clean.
All staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Raj at the front desk was extraordinarily helpful with some issues I was having with a document at the Business Center area and also with local transpiration questions I had. He was very friendly, competent and made our stay much easier.
THank you to the Econo Lodge Meadowlands - we will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: I love it when "non-smoking" actually means "non-smoking"….and here it does. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlstadt
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
1.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - East Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
456 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 395 Washington Ave, Carlstadt, NJ 07072-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range: $73 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Meadowlands, one of the great Jersey City hotels, is conveniently located near the Meadowlands Sports Complex, a sports and entertainment complex located in East Rutherford, Bergen County, NJ. Guests of the Econo Lodge enjoy this Carlstadt hotel near MetLife Stadium (home of the New York Giants and New York Jets), the Meadowlands Racetrack, the American Dream Meadowlands, and the Timex Performance Center. The Econo Lodge Meadowlands is one of the most conveniently accessible hotels in Carlstadt NJ with public transportation to New York City, Times Square, and The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey within 25 minutes.Visitors appreciate that the Econo Lodge is on of the great hotels in Carlstadt NJ that is accessible to popular NY attractions including the Empire State Building, the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and Rockefeller Center. A free shuttle is available within walking distance of the hotel to and from Redd's Restaurant and all major events at the Meadowlands. Begin the day with free continental breakfast that includes croissants, doughnuts, bagels, various breads,boiled eggs, yogurts, season fruits, juice and coffee. Corporate, government and senior rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Carlstadt
Econo Lodge Carlstadt
Carlstadt Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Carlstadt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing