We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok room, too expensive for what it is.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here during the October snowstorm cleanup. Because of our large family, we booked two rooms. One of the rooms was fine: clean, smelled fine, very nice. The room next to it (233) REEKED of smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. My kids didn't complain, but I wouldn't have been able to sleep in there. Even opening the door between the rooms made the smell waft into room 234. Besides that, it was a fine motel to stay in for 1 night. Service was great, we requested 2 extra pillows and they brought them even though they said they might not have any since they were totally booked. They serve a continental breakfast in the courtyard. They do allow pets now.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if your room smells of smoke!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Raj, you run a super clean friendly hotel. Thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skynyrd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

went for a concert at the izod. worked out well again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemanPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Went to this hotel back in July 2010 and didnt even stay the night...the photo of the hotel on here is NOT what it looks like. Its in an industrial area and there are scary graffitied run down buildings all around it. I pulled in and was immediately scared, we got out of our car and basically ran to the front office thinking someone was just waiting to rob us in this garage. The front desk clerk was extremely unhelpful and couldnt speak much english. Then when we got to our room it was disgusting!!! The refrigerator was FILLED with mold, we didnt know how to use the safe cause we sure wanted to after seeing the place, and the breakfast was in a TENT! We immediately went to find another hotel in the Seacaucus area and checked out if this hotel right away. I told him the room was not what i was shown online and the area was way to seedy for us. We could not find any kind of bus stop like people are saying, there is not a stop in front of this hotel, you have to go down the street and a bunch of really really scary people ride this bus into NY. If you stay here, drive to the park n' ride, please.
I didnt even stay one night and i will never go back to this area again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2Travel88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel is closed to new york city. However, the air conditioner did not work really well and it is really hot in the room in the summer. Breakfast was really poor, limited of choice. Be aware that they will charge for the safe even you do not ask for it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simba-Begin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The room are quite big - good breakfast with a big sitting area - the bus in front of the hotel to go directly to time square (very convenient)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvermoon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We are Jets season tickets holders and needed to stay one night for the Monday NIght Football game at a hotel close to the New Meadowlands. I wanted to stay in a clean and reasonable hotel. The price online was good and the pictures looked ok.
First of all it is not that easy to find and we were lost for about 15 minutes. The roads in that area are very tricky. The hotel is in a industrial area and not well manicured to say the least. It has covered parking and a tiny lobby. We presented our expedia reservation to the middle eastern clerk and he was not friendly at all. When we asked how to get to the stadium,,,his reply was he didn't know...(it was less than a mile away).
The rooms are very small, but clean. Needs major updating, but I guess we got what we paid for...a place to sleep...that's it. The place is noisey also, you can hear conversations in the open area outside your rooms. It was very seedy and I would never go back. There are many other hotels in the area to choose from and I would not suggest this one..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go2asun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlstadt
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - East Rutherford
1.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 395 Washington Ave, Carlstadt, NJ 07072-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range: $74 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Meadowlands, one of the great Jersey City hotels, is conveniently located near the Meadowlands Sports Complex, a sports and entertainment complex located in East Rutherford, Bergen County, NJ. Guests of the Econo Lodge enjoy this Carlstadt hotel near MetLife Stadium (home of the New York Giants and New York Jets), the Meadowlands Racetrack, the American Dream Meadowlands, and the Timex Performance Center. The Econo Lodge Meadowlands is one of the most conveniently accessible hotels in Carlstadt NJ with public transportation to New York City, Times Square, and The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey within 25 minutes.Visitors appreciate that the Econo Lodge is on of the great hotels in Carlstadt NJ that is accessible to popular NY attractions including the Empire State Building, the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and Rockefeller Center. A free shuttle is available within walking distance of the hotel to and from Redd's Restaurant and all major events at the Meadowlands. Begin the day with free continental breakfast that includes croissants, doughnuts, bagels, various breads,boiled eggs, yogurts, season fruits, juice and coffee. Corporate, government and senior rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Carlstadt
Econo Lodge Carlstadt
Carlstadt Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Carlstadt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing