We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here as a family of 4 in a family room. The Hotel is well within transport links to NYC if your thinking of using it for a city break.
I must say Jose on the front desk was super helpful, with advice on bus service, local food places etc. Reds Bar and Grill will come and collect you from this hotel and then take you back after your meal/drinks.
Hotel is clean and breakfast more than adequate. There is no reason not to stay here.
Great Location for super bowl this year!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your recent stay in Carlstadt NJ. We have read your comments and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. We are so delighted you enjoy your time here at the hotel and at Red's restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    121
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
113
66
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Though I had (in writing) both "no prepay until you stay" and 100% refundable if more than 2 days in advance - they billed me IN FULL, and then Jose Torres (Mgr) said the fee was non refundable. This was over $1500 - and I had to contest through VISA. I forwarded the contract (in writing) and they didn't change their position. Be careful - TERRIBLE experience that bordered on unethical behavior.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know of the problems that occurred in making your reservation, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. The dates you’ve selected for your reservation states on our website that all reservations are to be paid in full upon booking and it’s a non-refundable reservation. We are not committing any fraud action because our policies are clearly stated. Please be careful when making reservations during major events for future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Although, as others have said, this hotel is in a more industrial area, it is a very nice property with clean rooms and an excellent staff. In particular, Mariano was an exemplary employee and could not have been more cheerful and helpful. As an out of town tourist he provided great insights about the city and more importantly very clear directions on how to use the bus into and out of the Port Authority Terminal. (You take the 163 bus from about a block from the hotel right into Manhattan and just reverse it going home...take the LOCAL...total cost is $8.50 per person round trip and it is EASY!). The room was nice and clean and the breakfast bar was well stocked and organized with no lines at all. The pancake machine was broken which was a bummer for us, but certainly not the end of the world!

I highly recommend this property for anyone headed to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaltyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, traveling through the area, stopping to see Statue of Liberty. It was very close to the Statue but took one hour there and one hour back. Anyway, it is in an industrial area and no places to eat around. They do provide a pantry in the lobby with very reasonable prices for microwavable meals. The staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfast was, as always, TERRIFIC. Love those breakfast hostesses! The bed was comfortable and we got an upgrade to a great suite! Would recommend, but the road out front is not at all convenient, due to the barriers down the center. Not the fault of the hotel of course.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiedog84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your recent stay in Carlstadt NJ. We have read your comments about the hotel, the service and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I appologize your travels took longer then expected.

It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again at the hotel. Happy holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter for 5 nights starting on Thanksgiving We had a little trouble finding the hotel as our SatNav seemed to have the wrong address on it Check in was easy enough and my room was certainly large enough The bathroom was fine with a good shower Although my room looked over the main road I was on the 5th floor I was not disturbed Room rate included breakfast which had both hot and cold choices and provided a good start to the day The only problem is that the breakfast room only had seats for 30 people and would clearly not be big enough if the hotel was full The swimming pool was still being refurbished - when I booked the work was supposed to have been complete by early November The hotel does not have a bar or do evening meals so we had to go out There are quite a few restaurants nearby but not really within walking distance We chose the hotel for its proximity to the MetLife stadium but again we had to drive as walking was not an option

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank andym1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I would like to extend my sincere thanks for having chosen Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands for your recent stay and leaving us such a delightful review. It was indeed our privilege to serve you, we are so proud to have you as our guest. We would love to see you as our regular guest and eagerly waiting to serve you again with most memorable experience. Thank you again for your continuous loyalty to our brand and hope you continue using IHG Hotels for your future travel needs.

Flore GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great experience. Staff very helpful and everything was good. Only thing they were working on the pool ( pool area closed ). Other than that I had a great staying.
Thank you to all staff. They all were on top of things. Also the breakfast bar was great!!!.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csvcorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Heartfelt Thank you for sharing all your nice comments. I am pleased to hear that the accommodation and service were to your liking. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We strive to provide our guests with best attentive services at a value conscious price. And I am glad that we are successful in our efforts to make you most happy. We expect your future stay at our property will be your wonderful recall. Once again we do appreciate your stay and would love to have a pleasure of seeing you again on your next trip to our city.

Flore GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is awesome! So very helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed myself and would stay here again. BREAKFAST IS SERVED EVERY DAY AND CONSISTS OF VERY DELICIOUS HOT AND COLD FOOD. Doesn't cost anything.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbull1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Meadowlands Area. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your visit with us. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed our clean hotel, our friendly staff and our great breakfast. It is our pleasure to serve you. Thank you choosing our property and we hope you came back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlstadt
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
1.8 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Carlstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands

Property: Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Address: 100 Patterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072-2015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from New York City and Izod Center, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is your best choice in Carlstadt. You ll find the things that are most important to whether you re here for business or pleasure. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the ideal destination. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business, high speed Internet, 24-hour business center, faxing, and copying is available to you. And if you re here for pleasure you are just minutes away from Garden State Plaza Shopping Mall, Secaucus Outlets, great dining locations, and at the end of the day enjoy our indoor heated pool for relaxation. No matter what brings you to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites your room is your personal retreat. The key word is comfort with great bedding, modern décor and all the cable, sports, and movie channels you need. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is a favorite business and leisure visitors to Carlstadt and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands Hotel Carlstadt
Holiday Inn Express Carlstadt
Holiday Inn Carlstadt
Carlstadt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing