We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed in my choices”
Review of Hunkar Restaurant

Hunkar Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Carlstadt
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed in my choices”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

As an appetizer I chose the zuchhini pancakes. While the sauce was tasty, the pancakes were undercooked, still very soggy and pasty in the middle. As an entree I got Hunkar Begendi with lamb, a classical Istanbul dish with lamb chunks cooked in tomato sauce, served on eggplant puree blended with cheese. The lamb and sauce were excellent, but the eggplant sauce was bland, and way too much - a little went a long way. It needed something on the side to offset the eggplant - green beans, a small bit of shepherd's salad, or something. Best bet to enjoy this dish by sharing with one or two others. Service was good, pleasant and attentive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judyineaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty Turkish”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Really enjoyed this place. We had a bunch of appetizers – hummus, caviar spread, eggplant chunks – all of which were good. My wife tried the Bronzino special which was a whole fish, with head and bones and all. It was very juicy, very simple. I liked it more than my Iskender (they were out of the lamb shank, my usual go to dish at Turkish places). I also had a bite of my friends lamb chunks which were excellent. (She was born in Turkey and I was happy that she gave this place a thumbs up.) We had a nice corner table at the front of the restaurant. Later when I used the restroom I saw that there was a back room with open windows and a view of Met Life Stadium and midtown Manhattan behind that. We asked to have our dessert and coffee served out there, and our waitress was very accommodating. It was a pleasant way to end the evening. I would definitely go back, and it was convenient to Bananas Comedy Club further north on Route 17.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJazz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I just love this place...”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My favorite restaurant by far... Lebni dip is delicious, chicken sish and kofe kote is awesome yum. I'm getting hungry thinking about it. Try it out....it will surprise you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ko0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
“Turkish Delight”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are regulars at this restaurant. The food is very good and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is relaxing with Turkish music to add to the mood. The service is excellent. I would highly recommend the salmon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“love is not lovelier the 2nd time around”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went to this place 2 x within a month. The first time we were very impressed the lamb shank was incredible. We returned 2 weeks later and brought our son and his girlfriend. The lamb shank was good but the carrots and potatoes it was served with were not heated. It was painfully apparent they do not use fresh vegetables. Needless to say we were very disappointed and as true foodies we are not very excited to return. The hummus is excellent, I will give them that but we were really turned off by their poor presentation of vegetables.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunkar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hunkar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing