We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hawking spot ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape May Bird Observatory

Cape May Bird Observatory
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1975 by the New Jersey Audubon Society, the Observatory takes visitors on birdwatching trips to view more than 400 species of birds during fall migration.
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best hawking spot ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place boasts over 300 types of birds that can be seen at various times over the calendar year. The Fall migration is spectacular- go when the winds are from the NW and you may see hundreds, and maybe even thousands, yes thousands, of birds in a day if you're lucky. The weekend hawk demonstrations are not to be missed- especially if you have kids who might want to see a hawk up close. Bring binoculars, dress for the weather.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very helpful people - fun merchandise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had never been birding to Cape May before. The staff at the Bird Observatory were extremely knowledgeable and got me going. They helped me find great spots and told me about all of the naturalist-led hikes coming up (WELL WORTH IT). I also bought a bluebird house (handmade in PA) and some other nice mementoes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trish375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Birding visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Make time to call in - the staff are very friendly and informative.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Norfolktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an incredible santuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The wooden winding pathways are incredible. Birds flock to the area from all over the world. My partner is an avid birder and she loves this spot more than most!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank maxinejsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south river
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Walk through the Birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time seeing the different species of birds, even in the winter there are different types of ducks and the swans are a treat!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Bird Observatory also viewed

Cape May Point, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Bird Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing