We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservation service sucks” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doctor's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doctor's Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reservation service sucks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Rude woman left us sitting in her driveway after speaking on telephone. She should pay me for my wasted time. Would never ever recommend. If this is how they treat you BEFORE taking your money, imagine once they have your cash!! Never saw the rooms but the outside birdbath looked gross.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doctorsinnkeeper, Owner at Doctor's Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
There must be some mistake here. I'm not sure where you were or what number you called but we don't even have a "bird bath". We don't use a "reservation service" either. Reservations are made on line or by phone which we do ourselves. We never talked to someone who said they were in the driveway. Perhaps you dialed the wrong number or you were at a different place. We have never had a complaint that anyone here was rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
57
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were excited for our first trip to Cape May and came across the Doctors Inn. It is located a little away from Cape May but is still a good location and the drive is worth the cheaper room rate. The B&B was very nice inside, it could have used a little better upkeep though. We saw lots of spider webs in the room. Also, the outside looked very unkempt, mowing needed to be done and there was a huge hole in the gazebo. The staff was super friendly and the breakfast was great! I'd definitely go back for another stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This B&B is an antique-lover's dream. My husband and I fell in love with the intricate details of the the Victorian furniture, the chandeliers, the art, the staircase!! It's breathtaking. Feels like your walking into a dollhouse. The fireplace in our room was very cozy and romantic.The only complaint is the television in our room was a tad small, but we didn't go to watch TV! ;) We came for a romantic getaway. The bedding was extremely comfortable, I could have slept in forever. A side note, the gal that cooked us breakfast in the morning was very attentive. Eggs, potatoes, pancakes, A+++ She even took the time to refill our coffee and chat and get to know us, which was nice. We highly recommend this B&B for other couples... It's not in actual Cape May, but just a 10-15 minute drive. We come down the shore a lot and are so glad we found Doctor's Inn. We'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehappycouple_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were a bit disappointed last summer when we went to Cape May last-minute and couldn't find anything in Cape May itself. But it turned out to be a lucky thing, because we discovered The Doctor's Inn in Cape May Courthouse. It's only about a 15 minute drive to Cape May itself, and it is lovely and quiet. Brunch was worth getting up for (pumpkin pancakes, mmmm) and it was a very peaceful stay. Definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleeggharbornj
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed here just for one night, before Hurricane Sandy hit the area. We were greeted by a lovley lady as soon as we walked in. Soft music playing, she showed us around the inn, then up the two flight of steps to our room, the Horace B. Wood room on the third floor. they always have tea, coffee, and snacks on a large table during the day. In our price was included a BUFFET BREAKFAST. There is one room on the ground floor, 3 on the second floor, ( i think that they are suites) and 4 on the third.
Our room as decorated excellent. ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolady878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

he Doctor's Inn, in Cape May Court House, is a great place to stay if you want to enjoy the offerings of Cape May and Stone Harbor, NJ, without feeling crowded by everyone else. The room was comfortable and very clean, and you will definitely feel like you've stepped back in time when you walk in the door. Breakfast is excellent and always includes cereal, yogurt, and fruit. Additional daily offering can include eggs scrambled with all sorts of offerings, pancakes, bacon and hash browns. There is complimentary WiFi on the ground floor and you can also borrow a 'beach badge' during your stay. It's also in close proximity to the Cape May Country Zoo, which is also located in Cape May Court House and is rated #3 in the country (for good reason), and a recreation park (great for A.M. tennis) across the way from the zoo. Also ask about the kayaking tours at the local wetlands institute. You will need to drive to access most restaurants, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Historic home converted into a very nice B&B. We stayed here for a weekend on an anniversary trip through Deleware and rural NJ.
Nice condition, esp for its age. The home sits right off the main road through town and even thourh our room faced the street there was little sound. Be sure to enjoy the big porch and rockers. Very Victorian. Although we were there with many others we only ever saw one other couple. Breakfast is in a large dining room with individual seating. Everything was laid out in buffet style.

Most unusual that we were there and never, ever once saw a staff member or innkeeper. We did arrive late and a key was waiting for us. Breakfast was self serve but we never once encountered anyone. Its a shame. We had a wonderful time and there was nobody to compliment.

Only issuer -North Cape May is not a suburb of Cape May proper. It is inland and a good drive to the north. All of the resort stuff is half hour away. Thats fine - contributed to the calm of enjoying this delightful inn.

Room Tip: We had room OO - right off the main doorway. It was the original doctors office in the home. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May Court House
4.2 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
11.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctor's Inn

Property: Doctor's Inn
Address: 2 N Main St, Cape May Court House, Middle Township, NJ 08210-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Middle Township > Cape May Court House
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May Court House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Doctor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to the shores of Cape May, Avalon, Stone Harbor, and the Wildwoods, this bed and breakfast is a quintessential Victorian mansion. Located in Cape May Court House, NJ. We offer 8 well-appointed guest rooms, each with a private bath. The mansion can also be rented for private affairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Doctor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing