We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Doctor's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doctor's Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were a bit disappointed last summer when we went to Cape May last-minute and couldn't find anything in Cape May itself. But it turned out to be a lucky thing, because we discovered The Doctor's Inn in Cape May Courthouse. It's only about a 15 minute drive to Cape May itself, and it is lovely and quiet. Brunch was worth getting up for (pumpkin pancakes, mmmm) and it was a very peaceful stay. Definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
62
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
littleeggharbornj
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed here just for one night, before Hurricane Sandy hit the area. We were greeted by a lovley lady as soon as we walked in. Soft music playing, she showed us around the inn, then up the two flight of steps to our room, the Horace B. Wood room on the third floor. they always have tea, coffee, and snacks on a large table during the day. In our price was included a BUFFET BREAKFAST. There is one room on the ground floor, 3 on the second floor, ( i think that they are suites) and 4 on the third.
Our room as decorated excellent. ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolady878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

he Doctor's Inn, in Cape May Court House, is a great place to stay if you want to enjoy the offerings of Cape May and Stone Harbor, NJ, without feeling crowded by everyone else. The room was comfortable and very clean, and you will definitely feel like you've stepped back in time when you walk in the door. Breakfast is excellent and always includes cereal, yogurt, and fruit. Additional daily offering can include eggs scrambled with all sorts of offerings, pancakes, bacon and hash browns. There is complimentary WiFi on the ground floor and you can also borrow a 'beach badge' during your stay. It's also in close proximity to the Cape May Country Zoo, which is also located in Cape May Court House and is rated #3 in the country (for good reason), and a recreation park (great for A.M. tennis) across the way from the zoo. Also ask about the kayaking tours at the local wetlands institute. You will need to drive to access most restaurants, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Historic home converted into a very nice B&B. We stayed here for a weekend on an anniversary trip through Deleware and rural NJ.
Nice condition, esp for its age. The home sits right off the main road through town and even thourh our room faced the street there was little sound. Be sure to enjoy the big porch and rockers. Very Victorian. Although we were there with many others we only ever saw one other couple. Breakfast is in a large dining room with individual seating. Everything was laid out in buffet style.

Most unusual that we were there and never, ever once saw a staff member or innkeeper. We did arrive late and a key was waiting for us. Breakfast was self serve but we never once encountered anyone. Its a shame. We had a wonderful time and there was nobody to compliment.

Only issuer -North Cape May is not a suburb of Cape May proper. It is inland and a good drive to the north. All of the resort stuff is half hour away. Thats fine - contributed to the calm of enjoying this delightful inn.

Room Tip: We had room OO - right off the main doorway. It was the original doctors office in the home. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Charming describes Doctor's Inn, as well as the wonderful couple who runs the B & B in Cape May Court House. The Inn is beautifully decorated and the room we were lucky to stay in had an adjoining sitting room. In a previous review a woman had complained about the cleanliness of her room. That was not our experience. The accommodations were spotless and very comfortable. (Loved the silky sheets). We enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast. Lorraine, the owner, was so helpful. She filled us in on places to visit beyond the usual tourist routes. We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralparkpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed one evening and one evening too much. Looks great but the photographs are not recent. Stayed in the Bridal Suite. Must have been lovely back in the Day. The bed gives you a head rush because the mattress sags. Newer sheets but sand in the bed. Lovely built in closets with a marble sink. Don't open the doors to the closets the smell of musty/old will knock you out. Bathroom seriously in need of updating and cleaning. Mold on the shower curtains and the faded green towels had a serious odor. Room had a balcony but no screen on the sliding door it was home to some black and white cat that wanted to come into the room. Too many old dusty, faded dry and plastic flowers. Would not eat there, went to the diner up the block. My advice to the owners spend some money on cleaning products,invest t in some mattresses and bed supports throw out the dusty old flowers and clutter.

Room Tip: Visit before you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington City
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was a nice B and B hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Cape May. The rooms were nice. The hostess brought tea and water to our third floor room upon arrival, and she was very much pregnant. Good breakfast, and a good price with no two night minimum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rcdallmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May Court House
4.3 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
214 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
4.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
275 reviews
11.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyland Motor Inn
Hyland Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctor's Inn

Property: Doctor's Inn
Address: 2 N Main St, Cape May Court House, Middle Township, NJ 08210-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Middle Township > Cape May Court House
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May Court House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Doctor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to the shores of Cape May, Avalon, Stone Harbor, and the Wildwoods, this bed and breakfast is a quintessential Victorian mansion. Located in Cape May Court House, NJ. We offer 8 well-appointed guest rooms, each with a private bath. The mansion can also be rented for private affairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doctor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing