We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step into the Past!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyland Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyland Motor Inn
Huntington, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Step into the Past!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

When we first arrived I thought this was a big mistake. Nothing is updated, fixturesand furniture from the 60's, but I was surprised because it was very clean. I would stay there again for a blast from the past!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank zoomy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    57
    13
    12
    18
See reviews for
79
34
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2006

We stayed at the Hyland Motor Inn and found it to be a quiet motel conveniently located to Cape May, Wildwood and Stone Harbor. The room was very clean and staff were friendly and accommodating. The rates were reasonably priced and we are scheduled to return in July.
We definitely recommond this motel to those who want to visit Wildwood but stay in a peaceful enviorment and those who want to visit Cape May or Stone Harbor but not stay in a pricey hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

This hotel has absolutely nothing worth visiting. Aside from the fact that it is situated directly next to the hi-way, it is one of the filthyest places I have ever seen. Charging as mucth or more than much nicer places in stone harbor (119.00USD) the rates are also an offense. The onlything more dissapointing than the room rates was the management. We rented 4 rooms and one suite, and lost our deposit on all of them when we said the rooms were too filthty for human occupation. Mildewstains on the floor, celing, bathroom, and sheets, a dank musty smell and the obvious heavy smoking scent accompanied every room. An unplugged funk-infested fridge sat in the middle of one of hte rooms, door open, and water on the floor. Similar situation was in all the other rooms. When we went to the management to complain, they said we could not get our deposit back, and it was only with several hours of discussion and calls to the fraud prevention hotline that the managment said they would void the remainding nights stay from the card transaction they had altready booked without signature. Upon asking if they had an expaination for the devestated condition of the place, the response was that they were not the Hilton, and that each hotel had different styles, some were victorian, some were colonial. We asked what type of style the half empty swimming pool represented, and what look the fungus growing in the sink was aiming for.

Save yourself the trouble, go to a hotel in Stone harbor, they are less expensive, and right by the beach in a nice sleepy little beach town. Leave this place, and its dismal hi-way noise to the truckers.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2006

Rooms were comfortable and pricing was reasonable when compared to Cape May or Wildwood. Rooms were clean and staff was helpful. Very peaceful and quiet stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2006

In April we were attending a wedding in Stone Harbor and this was my first trip to NJ. We chose this motel over the internet. The pool looks nothing like the picture. This motel is very old and all the furnhisng looked like they were installed in the 50's. It was clean enough but I'm only five foot tall and my feet hung off the end of the bed. Not a room you want to spend anymore time in than you have to. Had it not been so late when we arrived and we were only staying two nights we would have gone someplace else.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2005

I recently went to wildwood to join a family camping trip, but when i got on site i decided to find a motel nearby instead of installing my tent.

I chose the Hyland motor inn for it's proximity to my family camping site and also because it looked pretty good from the outside with it's wooded area in front of the rooms.

Staff was very pleasant at the office and they gave me a chance to see 2 rooms before i decided to stay. Rooms are pretty standards, equipped with mini fridges, telephones, 19-21 inches TV and hair dryer.

This motel is a good choice if you want to be near the beach and wildwood.
I found that the rates were a bit expensive with a price of 85$US per night, but i was there in the july, so i guess it is justified.

Ask for their ''summer vacation'' special and get 10% off, or just ask to have 10% off their regular price, i'm pretty sure they will give you the deal.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ThomasBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May Court House
4.0 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
3.6 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
18.9 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyland Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyland Motor Inn

Property: Hyland Motor Inn
Address: 38 E Mechanic St, Cape May Court House, Middle Township, NJ 08210-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Middle Township > Cape May Court House
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape May Court House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyland Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5-10 minutes from Stone Harbor, Cape May, Wildwoods and Avalon, the Hyland Motor Inn is truly a vacation haven. Luxury with informality is our guideline for an exciting vacation world. From the minute you walk into our lobby, your every wish is our command. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyland Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyland Motor Hotel Cape May Court House
Hyland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing