We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Price”
Review of Hyland Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyland Motor Inn
New London, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Price”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family of 3 stayed in the 2-story building, top floor, in a room with two beds and a separate kitchen & dining room. The kitchen had a stove, microwave, mini-fridge with freezer, and a coffee maker, as well as a full sink with detergent and kitchen towels provided. The cabinets contained dishes and pots and pans. Staff & owners all very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping staff asked us if we wanted any extra towels or anything.The place was filled on the first night we were there but very quiet. Plenty of parking. Good water flow and hot water for showering. Shady lawn area with picnic tables. Two comfortable chairs in the bedroom. Close to beaches and Cape May. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The efficiency type rooms in the 2-story building are lovely. We stayed on the top floor. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    61
    15
    13
    18
See reviews for
85
35
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Positive: Nice flat screen TV. Kitchen in room is a plus. Cleaning staff friendly.
Not so positive: We checked in @ 10:30pm...I even called ahead knowing this was a Mom & Pop type place so they would know we'd be there at that time. Lady @ desk didn't smile, was rude. Room musty, carpet dirty. Charged WAY too much for what you get. I guess it was adequate....but the website makes it look nicer than it really is.

Room Tip: We picked this because of the great reviews here on Trip Advisor....but it just wasn't so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irelands7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice place to stay...not fancy but clean. Staff is always friendly.
Rooms are reasonably priced - I recommend booking early for the summer vacation - rooms fill up quickly.
Nearby to Cape May, Wildwood, Stone Harbor & Avalon beaches - about 20-25minutes or less in any given driection.
Off season (fall & winter) is also a good time to go. Very quiet! Fall foliage is awesome & Cape May is especially nice to visit around the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a nice little motel, very much an old fashioned motor inn of yesteryear. No, it's not fancy, but it's located in a great spot, clean, comfortable and affordable. My only complaint, and it's really not one, but the mattresses remind me of those in college dorms. They weren't very comfortable, but I have a great pillowtop mattress, so I am a tough critic. They called the day of check in to see what time we were arriving, and the person I spoke with was quite nice. The front desk attendant was so sweet and helpful. I'm sure it's even nicer in warmer weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahanoy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have stayed several times with family members and had no problems that the staff could not handle. The rooms were clean, kitchen worked well for our needs and had tv's in all 3 rooms. There is a very nice swimming pool which the staff keeps well maintained. Very convenient to the Parkway.

A family member also stayed a dozen or more times alone during 2012 (that's who referred us to the Hyland Motor Inn) and she said she found it to be a very comfortable,nice and a safe motel to stay at with the lighting outside the rooms and grounds very well lite. She said anytime she needed something she knew they where only a phone call away asking for what she needed and they would be right there taking care of it.

Thank You Hyland Motor Inn Owner and Staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great food near by, Parkway entrance at parking lot exit. Attractions in all directions and one block from a hospital.
Swimming for all ages and very nice landscape and surrounding coupled with service by staff that is top shelf.
Easy paring at or near your room and some have kitchens.
Our family will return for sure. Thank you staff of the Hyland Motor Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plfaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My third visit to the motel. It is just as good. Every time, it exceeded my expectations. This year they even put an ironing board on the wall of the closet. I look more professional and confident when I met people in town. I always like the landscape in front of my room No.123. When I looked out of the windows, I could see many pine trees in sight and other trees in the backyard. They were peaceful and beautiful in the moonlight. The room is spacious and of course,clean, and well-maintained. I enjoyed hot coffee in the room and the big fridge, watching the wide, flat-screen TV. The manager's name is Susan, a thoughtful person -- she will make you feel like home. I couldn't ask for more, really. I will come stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Easy access to the Garden State Parkway,too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 578jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May Court House
4.0 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
215 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
3.9 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doctor's Inn
Doctor's Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
97 reviews
5.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rio Grande
Red Roof Inn Rio Grande
#1 of 4 in Rio Grande
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyland Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyland Motor Inn

Property: Hyland Motor Inn
Address: 38 E Mechanic St, Cape May Court House, Middle Township, NJ 08210-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Middle Township > Cape May Court House
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape May Court House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyland Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5-10 minutes from Stone Harbor, Cape May, Wildwoods and Avalon, the Hyland Motor Inn is truly a vacation haven. Luxury with informality is our guideline for an exciting vacation world. From the minute you walk into our lobby, your every wish is our command. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyland Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyland Motor Hotel Cape May Court House
Hyland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing