We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Spent 3 nights at BTL and enjoyed the campground very much. Large, wooded sites - ours had a great view of the lake. The kids enjoyed being able to go to the snack bar for ice cream. We felt safe letting them bike around on their own. The pool was very clean and had good hours as they stayed open a little late (8pm) due to the extreme heat. We didn't get to play mini golf but the course looked great, especially for a campground. Overall the grounds we incredibly maintained. We didn't participate in their scheduled events so can't comment on them.

We opted for the gate key card. Required a $10 security deposit but that was returned to us. I don't think we ever used the card though because the gate is generally manned.

The camp store was lacking. Not that we needed anything really but we always enjoy looking around a store for any cool camping items we find inspiring. They also didn't really have many groceries if you ran out of something. Also, their wi-fi was very funky. You could sign on for 24 hours and then use it for 2 hours per day. Something screwy like that. We never signed in.

The only thing that kept me from a 5 star rating is the bathhouse. The bathhouses close for an hour and a half twice per day for cleaning. Never really saw evidence of cleaning and the closing hours were inconvenient ones (lunch time?). We didn't end up using the showers and just stuck to our RV shower. I didn't mind that they a quarter - who cares about that - but they didn't give me much comfort in the cleanliness department.

Overall a very pleasant few days. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: ask for a site near the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJMama02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon E, Manager at Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we appreciate hearing from our campers.

We have two bath houses, and they are closed once during the day for major cleaning and then again briefly in the evening. (They are never closed at the same time.) If at any time it is reported to us that the bath house needs attention, we do respond to it immediately. Unfortunately, there is not a perfect time to close the bath houses for cleaning; the shower facilities are most commonly used early in the morning and in the evening, so we schedule our cleaning around the middle of the day. As an added note, the 25-cent shower fee prevents anyone from leaving the water running and thereby ensures that our campers can have a hot shower when they want one!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - we look forward to having you back so you can try our mini golf course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Yannick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC-SunRVSunshineTeam, The Sun RV Sunshine Team at Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Martine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne réservez surtout pas une seule journée à l’avance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sylvaindouville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlucdesfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May Court House
11.3 mi away
Seashore Campsites & RV Resort
9.7 mi away
Holly Shores Camping Resort
3.2 mi away
Hyland Motor Inn
Hyland Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Cape May KOA
Cape May KOA
#15 of 18 in Cape May
137 reviews
7.3 mi away
Pine Haven Camping Resort
Pine Haven Camping Resort
#3 of 6 in Ocean View
22 reviews
2.7 mi away
Driftwood RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort

Address: 116 Swainton Goshen Rd, Cape May Court House, Middle Township, NJ 08210-1411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Middle Township > Cape May Court House
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cape May Court House
Price Range: $56 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest in resort family camping at Big Timber Lake - in the heart of the Jersey Cape. You'll find all the wonders of life in the wilderness with all the conveniences of a modern campground.Enjoy all the fabulous recreational facilities such as a swimming pool, on-site lake, kayak rentals, miniature golf, hiking,planned events and much more.Just minutes away in Cape May, you'll find sailing and pleasure boating, fresh local seafood, sightseeing, shopping, and exciting night life. At Big Timber Lake you can have it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Hotel Cape May Court House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing