We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a free zoo”

Cape May County Park & Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Have a wild time as you explore more than 85 acres of beautifully maintained exhibits. With 200 different species of mammals, birds, amphibians and reptiles and approximately 500 animals, you're sure to see something new. The Cape May County Zoo is open 364 days a year (closed Christmas). Summer Hours: 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Winter Hours: 10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. beginning November 1st. No admission fee. That's right! The zoo is free of charge! Donations are GREATLY appreciated! Join the FUN, where the admission is always FREE!
providence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for a free zoo”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

went here after reading other reviews great time! clean! Bring your drinks and snacks as it is a free zoo they get you with drinks. went with a party of ten and 3 small children very very nice woud go again and def recommend it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank snowserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,075
    171
    17
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“This is Free?”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I'll preface this review by saying that not only do I visit many zoos, I volunteer at one in a major city. With that in mind, given the size of the community in which it sits, the Cape May Zoo provides a spectacular offering, on par with many others around the world. Add in the fact that admission is free (donations are requested), and you have a hard to beat value.

Using all of their 85 acres, the Zoo offers a tremendous variety of animal exhibits, from the traditional reptile house (featuring a visiting albino alligator for the summer of 2011) and a farmyard, to an impressive selection of big cats. Of special note is the Pathway to diversity, an elevated wooden walkway through a number of exhibits and providing excellent viewpoints. The zoo also houses a small aviary, many primate exhibits and others.

For those traveling to the Cape May area this is a can't miss attraction.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Loonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and Fun Zoo at the right price!”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Just minutes outside of cape may and lower nj shore points is the cape may county zoo. Clean and a nice size. It is a donations admission. It is worth a donation. Also a playground, eatery and store on premises. Bears, tigers lions and a great walk out to the african savannah make this a great attraction. We go here year round.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesliessc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“take a nice relaxing stroll and enjoy the scenery”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I have visited the Cape May Zoo several times over the past 14 years and have enjoyed it each and every time. The grounds are pretty to look at and the animals are great. They are easy to see and get great pictures.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank angelsonline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This zoo is amazing!! On our last day of vacation the owner of the B&B we stayed in suggested that we go to the zoo. My eight year old son loved it. The zoo is beautiful! It's basically in a forest. There are trees and flowers everywhere. There are tons of different animals and everything is very clean. The reptile house is very neat. I couldn't believe how big the zoo is! The most shocking part is that it's free! We gave a donation but were never asked to do so. There are different stations around the park where you can buy drinks. My son loved the animal shaped sipper cups. There is a nice eating pavilion outside the entrance where you can buy hot dogs, hamburgs, pizza and ice cream treats. The prices are pretty much average for a public attraction. We can't wait to go back this summer!

Helpful?
Thank Sarejss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May County Park & Zoo also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May County Park & Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing