We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Atkinson's Restaurant & Tavern - CLOSED

Atkinson's Restaurant & Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar
Restaurant details
Rio Grande, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Local pub, good food, nice people, all stars from me.
Atkinson is the cheers pub on tv. It's a place you can go where everyone knows your name. Food is pretty decent too.
They give back to their community and this makes a big impact in my book.
Thanks for all you do guys.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sittersatthesho... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good home cooked food. The basics are a good deal at this place with lots of weeknight specials. Whether you choose to sit in the bar area or inside the atrium restaurant you will be treated nicely by the friendly staff. A good place to watch a game or have a nice dinner. The specials can be a bit pricey but food is fresh and well prepared

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolahunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“" A Hidden Surprise "”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Atkinson's Restaurant , on Route 9 at Shell Bay in Cape May Courthouse , is a hidden gem when it comes to " fine dining " . Their calamari is the best I've ever had & their menu of local seafood catches is unsurpassed . The staff is extremely attentive to every nuance of your dining experience .. but .. not pushy . Absolutely a 5 Star restaurant in my opinion .

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drama60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and good admosphere”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place will surprise you. It has a dining room off from the main bar and a patio with foliage and decor. The food is good and the drinks are excellent. The only problem is the wait time for the food is longer than most restaurants regardless of how busy. A good place to plan an event or party.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We visited this restaurant/bar during mid week for dinner. We were seated in a nice dining area with a view of a pond and water fall. Our waiter took our order and we were served our meal without bread we thought-maybe our meals did not come with bread. But then after we got our meal we saw every other table with bread. We did not see our waiter again until our meal was completed-It did get rather busy but we did not get a "hows everything going" during the meal or any drink refills.I ate seafood combo which was OK my wife had a scallop dish that was good. We both had the double baked potato as a side. I don't know if it was frozen or fake potatoes on a real skin but it was not good. We might have caught a bad night and we would give it another try down the road-but we will be getting the fries.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseyharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atkinson's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Cape May Court House, Middle Township
Cape May Court House, Middle Township
 
Cape May Court House, Middle Township
Cape May Court House, Middle Township
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing