We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampering in Cape May”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pampering in Cape May”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Recently discovered the Virginia Hotel with an excellent restaurant called the Ebbitt Room for outstanding food. This is among a collection of hotels privately owned with the Congress Hall among them. The hotel is meticulously maintained, with an emphasis on pampering and trying to meet high expectations. Continental breakfast is included which can be served either in your room but also in nice weather outside on the veranda or in a lounge area inside. It has a strong Victorian charm but with modern bathroom facilities. It doesn't sacrifice comfort. Staff are very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara R, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Marie756

Thank you for writing about your time that you spent with us here at the Virginia Hotel & Cottages as well as the Ebbitt Room.

It was such a pleasure to read your comments about out service, staff and our building. We truly appreciate every bit of feedback from our guests. I am so happy we were able to send you home with wonderful memories and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    137
    49
    29
    15
See reviews for
50
384
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Our family of five stayed in The Little Gray cottage, one of a number of cottages as part of The Virginia Hotel and The Cape Resort Group. Cottage had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a fully stocked kitchen (it would have been nice to have a dish towel instead of paper towels) Easy walk to the beach and we enjoyed the amenities offered (complimentary beach towels, chairs and umbrellas and pool access at the nearby Congress Hotel to name a few). Had the best three nights sleep - mattress was very comfortable, although the mattress on the pull out couch wax lumpy as would be expected). Would have been nice to have a blow dryer and a clock radio that worked but otherwise everything we needed for a great Cape May vacation was at this cottage. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night at the red cottage inn which is run by the Virginia Hotel. Room was very clean and equipped with a coffee maker, refrigerator and safe. We had the option of having breakfast in our room or at the Virginia Hotel. The area had a very nice relaxing feel all around. Parking was complimentary. Would definitely return to this Victorian home.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My girlfriend I was visiting in NJ picked this spot for our over-nighter. The B&B is adorable! Rooms were clean and cute! Bed slept like a dream! Had dinner in the Ebbitt Room - fantastic meal! We also enjoyed our breakfast on the veranda the next morning. Everybody was so nice and helpful! We got to partake of the spa services at their sister property the Congress Hotel. They have surveys for everything and the owners really do care about their customer reviews. I would love to go back next year when I visit!!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had no issues with noise. Outside our windows it was all trees. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilasalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful two night stay in mid-May. the room is cosy, but very comfortable. The linens are high quality as are the room amenities (e.g., Bulgari bath products). The continental breakfast was tasty (yummy muffins and artisanal bread). The inn provided free valet parking. We had also brought our bicycles and were able to lock them up at the side of the inn. The shoulder season price was reasonable. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed this past weekend with my husband and we had such a wonderful time. The girls at the front desk were welcoming and professional and the rooms were spotless. We enjoyed drinks in the lounge and had a delicious dinner in the Ebbitt Room. We will definitely be going back every year and recommend it to everyone looking for a romantic and relaxing get away.

Location can't be beat - only half a block from the beach and the heart of town.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachlover8426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We recently stayed here off season and thought it was fantastic. The staff was sweet and friendly. The room was lovely, much as shown on the website. Very clean and a good size. The bathroom was a bit small but fine. The DirectTV and free internet were much appreciated on a cold day. We did not take advantage of the shared facilities but were pleasantly surprised to learn that we could have gone to the Congress Hall pool. The simple free breakfast in your room was a nice touch. All in all, we will be hoping to stay here again. Really lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4lv2tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing