We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm Galore!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charm Galore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is the most charming hotel I have ever experienced. From the moment you walk in through the welcoming red doors, you will feel the comfortable yet elegant ambiance of this lovely hotel. The warm weather months are great to enjoy the front porch, and a warm fire greets you in the colder months. The location is awesome, walking distance to everything. The only negative thing is there is no bellman to carry your luggage up the stairs.

Room Tip: The Virginia room has a wrap around balcony and spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    131
    49
    29
    15
See reviews for
46
372
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've stayed at a few Cape May hotels and BBs and "The Virginia" is still my favorite. Rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious. The restaurant has been renovated and the food and service is superb. The hotel is also within walking distance of the beach. I love the modern yet warm and inviting decor of hotel...also if you go in during the holiday season it is always beautifully decorated. I'm heading there soon again and I can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for probably the tenth time at the Virginia, and have to say the excellence continues. The Victorian decor is elegant, and, being 3 days before Christmas, was extraordinary. The main thing that separates this hotel from so many others is the professionalism of the staff, from the desk, to the maitre'd to housekeeping and valet parking. They are obviously well-trained. The room was well decorated with great linens and mattress. The room-delivered continental breakfast was very good. Of course one of the prime reasons we return so often, is to eat at the Ebbitt Room. The new configuration of the bar makes for a very comfortable pre-dinner drink, and the meal was as spectacular as anticipated. The hotel just provides an extremely pleasant stay in Cape May. The only negative was my fault, having a bad knee and not requesting a 1st or 2nd floor room. The trek to the 3rd floor was arduous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The rooms are in the old style and the attached restaurant is exquisite. Within walking distance to the beach, we did stay in December and I would not consider staying here in the summer due to the fact that I like to be closer to the beach and usually rent near the beach. This place was perfect for seeing the holiday lights and sitting by the fire and having a cocktail next to the christmas tree.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddwillms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

For two years we have enjoyed our stay at the Virginia Hotel Christmas eve night into Christmas day. It was a very special experience! Service is wonderful - even though it is the holiday and we feel guilty about "making" people work, we felt so welcomed! The queen bed room we have is comfy, spacious, and the shower is magnificent - HUGE! Two regular shower heads with a rain shower in the middle between the two.
We get a winter package which entitles us to a discount on a drink at the bar and a discount for dinner in the Ebbitt Room. The food there is FANTASTIC!! The only downside is that if you are booking this particular package, make sure you can get a reservation in the Ebbitt room when you want it. The noise level in the Ebbitt room is a bit high, but you can't beat the quality of the food!
You get a choice of breakfast goodies in the morning - the homemade granola is great as is the home-baked muffins. Be sure to order extra for mere pennies if you think you will be hungry. The rooms have mini-bars to either partake of them or bring a bottle of bubbly and store it in the fridge for morning mimosas (with or without the juice) :)
Late checkout for this special package is wonderful, but there are no drapes on the windows so bring a sleep mask if the light bothers you and you want to sleep in.
Also - location is great to enjoy the special end of season sales at the few shops that are still open. Very short walk!

Room Tip: No elevators, so if you are challenged, request a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for my stepsons USCG bootcamp graduation. Found an online deal, took a chance & blindly booked this hotel! Boy, did we get lucky! This is the most BEAUTIFUL boutique hotel. It's charming, clean, super friendly staff. So quaint & such great attention to detail! Less than a block from the beach. Can not wait for a chance to go back! Will only stay here when in cape may, can't imagine any other place measuring up to this little gem!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbernasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I went here for a bachelorette party and it was pretty classy. I was in a double bed room. The beds were clean and there was a lot of space. I shared with one other person and it was A LOT of space. You can definitely have four ladies in a room. We also went to the Ebbitt room for dinner which was really nice. Some of the food was fresh from the farm. It was nice that the room was in the same building. Also the Mad Hatter Rest. is right next door which is good for brunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#14 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing