We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great find in cape may”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been coming to Cape May for over 20 years and would not have thought about staying here, thank you GROUPON! The Virginia has the feel of a B&B, but the service of a 5 star hotel. Breakfast in the AM to our room was a plus, snacks at the bar were top notch, sitting by the fire in the lobby was perfect after braving the rain/snow all day. Room was immaculate and plenty of space, bed big and comfy. It was disappointing that the Ebbit room was not open for dinner, actually this time of year there is not many places open, do your research before hand. Went to Congress hall for a massage, 50 minutes of the best massage I have ever had, thank you Stephanie!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 573 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

the virginia hotel is a great old fashion hotel with the charm and elegants of a by gone era
but it needs an elevator too many steps to climb to get to my room from street to ro 42 steps
food was excellent service and staff were helpful and courtesy beautifuly decorated at
christmas time but there was no convient parking

Room Tip: stayas close to ground floor as posible to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spike712999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Last October I wrote a rather unflattering review because, at that time, the hotel was unwilling to offer a refund or credit for a one night's stay that happened to coincide with Hurricane Sandy. As a result, the Manager contacted me and has rectified the situation to my complete satisfaction. SO while is still have no comment on the hotel itself, I can certainly reverse my negative view of its management. And I will soon be able to relate a first hand exprience. Thanks very much to the management of the Virginia Hotel and TripAdvisor as well!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank 52,072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We wanted to get away after working so many hours and having so much stress from work. We stayed for the very first time at the Viginia Hotel. We have been to their beautiful porch and the great Ebbit Room in the past for dinner and drinks , however, we have never stayed over. It was beautiful , spotless, friendly , warm and just perfect. The porch, hotel, bar, and Ebbit Room is truly unbelievable . Our meal was so delicious . The Management is so helpful! I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: King size bed was perfect, spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The charm does not stop at the excellent Victorian porches. Inside this hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained, with a staff eager to offer friendly, fast and efficient service. Excellent beds, clean throughout, wonderful breakfast, lounges and porches - inside and out - with fireplaces and comfortable areas, Virginia is really paying attention to the details! A short half-block from the beach. Park at a lot about a block away.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful place and located near everything! We went for a weekend in January and got a great deal. The breakfast was wonderful and a perfect place for couples. I don't think it would be of interest to families as much. Decor was gorgeous and very clean. The only problem was we were awoken by the fire alarm around 6:45 am Saturday morning and had to wait outside with fire department in 30 degree temps. They thought steam from a shower caused it?? These things happen, however, people staying at the same time, said it happened to them when they stayed once before. The waitress two doors down said it happens frequently, that wouldn't be good on a regular basis. All in all, we had a great time with lots to do, even in winter!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

2nd visit here in 2 months and we love this place. Perfect getaway and everything about this place is first class, from the staff to the accommodations!. Can't wait to go back! Having breakfast served in your room is a great little luxury!

Room Tip: anywhere is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
270 reviews
0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $129 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing