We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cape mays great hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
secaucus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cape mays great hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

the virginia hotel is a great old fashion hotel with the charm and elegants of a by gone era
but it needs an elevator too many steps to climb to get to my room from street to ro 42 steps
food was excellent service and staff were helpful and courtesy beautifuly decorated at
christmas time but there was no convient parking

Room Tip: stayas close to ground floor as posible to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spike712999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    119
    45
    26
    14
See reviews for
43
329
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Last October I wrote a rather unflattering review because, at that time, the hotel was unwilling to offer a refund or credit for a one night's stay that happened to coincide with Hurricane Sandy. As a result, the Manager contacted me and has rectified the situation to my complete satisfaction. SO while is still have no comment on the hotel itself, I can certainly reverse my negative view of its management. And I will soon be able to relate a first hand exprience. Thanks very much to the management of the Virginia Hotel and TripAdvisor as well!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 52072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We wanted to get away after working so many hours and having so much stress from work. We stayed for the very first time at the Viginia Hotel. We have been to their beautiful porch and the great Ebbit Room in the past for dinner and drinks , however, we have never stayed over. It was beautiful , spotless, friendly , warm and just perfect. The porch, hotel, bar, and Ebbit Room is truly unbelievable . Our meal was so delicious . The Management is so helpful! I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: King size bed was perfect, spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The charm does not stop at the excellent Victorian porches. Inside this hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained, with a staff eager to offer friendly, fast and efficient service. Excellent beds, clean throughout, wonderful breakfast, lounges and porches - inside and out - with fireplaces and comfortable areas, Virginia is really paying attention to the details! A short half-block from the beach. Park at a lot about a block away.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful place and located near everything! We went for a weekend in January and got a great deal. The breakfast was wonderful and a perfect place for couples. I don't think it would be of interest to families as much. Decor was gorgeous and very clean. The only problem was we were awoken by the fire alarm around 6:45 am Saturday morning and had to wait outside with fire department in 30 degree temps. They thought steam from a shower caused it?? These things happen, however, people staying at the same time, said it happened to them when they stayed once before. The waitress two doors down said it happens frequently, that wouldn't be good on a regular basis. All in all, we had a great time with lots to do, even in winter!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

2nd visit here in 2 months and we love this place. Perfect getaway and everything about this place is first class, from the staff to the accommodations!. Can't wait to go back! Having breakfast served in your room is a great little luxury!

Room Tip: anywhere is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We usually go to Cape May for a long weekend once or twice a year.
This was our first stay at The Virginia Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with a gift from our daughter for an extended Valentine's Day.
Check in was very quick. Valet parking took our car and brought our bags up to the room. We had a nice large comfortable corner room on the 3rd floor. The room had everything we needed. It had a nice king size bed with two comfortable chairs, flat screen TV etc. Bathroom was a decent size with a walk in shower and Jacuzzi bathtub. It was very clean with amenities.

Breakfast is included and we thought it a very nice touch. It was delivered to our room. Plenty of coffee, fresh fruit salad, bread, eggs, soft or hard-boiled, fresh home made granola, yogurt and juices. We enjoyed it and I got spoiled. Also a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries really added to my being spoiled.

Our package included a credit towards dinner at The Ebbit Room. We’ve eaten there before but this time it was excellent. Especially when it’s raining out and no need to leave the hotel. The bar makes great drinks also. In hindsight we would’ve eaten there both nights but had reservations elsewhere.

The staff was very nice and attentive at the Virginia. Vance at the front desk, he’s very nice and helpful.
I actually left a pair of shoes in the room and they called before we were even home and said they shipped them to us. Just those things show that the staff is sincere.

All in all, on our next trip to Cape May we will stay at The Virginia Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRIP421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#14 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing