We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for a one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice for a one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for one night, Saturday of the January long weekend, as a quick getaway from New York and to see a new area. Like someone else said the the hotel is a cross between a B&B and a swanky hotel. Valet parking is a nice touch and its good you can choose where and when you want breakfast but the restaurant downstairs is quite expensive and there are very few alternative options for places to go in winter. Our dinner was good but trying too hard - too much seasoning on the steak and tiny sides of vegetables which they didnt even apologize for when we complained.
The town is really pretty and I imagine it would be crazy busy in summer. If I was to go back in summer I would probably stay in more of an apartment than here but it was a nice option for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    119
    45
    26
    14
See reviews for
43
329
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Elmhurst, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend of Jan. 25-27th 2013. First of all don't come to this area during the winter because there is hardly anything to do. It looked liked a ghost town when we arrived on Friday. The hotel was cute and clean. Liked the hot chocolate on Friday when we got there, but they did not have it on Saurday. The room was ok.Bed was comfortable. I feel like it was way overpriced for the winter season. The restaurant in the hotel was expensive as well. Had to go out of Cape May to find a diner to eat in. The hotel has complimentary continental breakfast that they delivered to your room( which was nice , we did not have to get dressed to get breakfast) Only thing is that you are not really allowed to pick as much as you want from the menu ( not so nice). My husband was starving 2 hours later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helena d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Unfortunately, our stay at the Virginia Hotel was very short. My husband and I got there around 6:00 p.m. Thursday night and had to leave by 9:30 the next morning, but regardless of the quick stop, we still very much enjoyed our stay.

The Virginia Hotel offers a nice combination of a quaint B&B mixed with a modern feel. Our room was bit basic, but nice. I’m sure there are nicer rooms, but because our stay was so short, we opted for one of their more inexpensive choices. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was large with three shower heads. I was also happy to see that their complimentary toiletries were Bvlgari, which is a favorite of mine!

After checking in, my husband and I had pre-dinner cocktails at the bar in the Ebbit Room. The bar area is very cozy and the bartender was friendly. There is also a lounge area with a fireplace where you can enjoy your drinks. We wanted to have dinner at the Ebbit Room, but because it was a Thursday night during slow season, they were only offering their bar menu. We instead made reservations at the Peter Shields Inn, about a mile away, which was excellent. We were served breakfast in our room the next morning, which was complimentary. Breakfast was a bit limited, but good; although, they did forget part of my husband’s order.

I would definitely recommend the Virginia Hotel and we’re hoping to be back for a longer stay. I’m sure it’s beautiful closer to Christmas. Overall, the Virginia Hotel was very cozy and is within walking distance to both the Washington Street Mall and the beach.

I only have a couple of minor complaints about the hotel. The walls were very thin and sometimes we could hear the muffled conversations of the people next door. Also, there is no parking lot, so you must park on the street. Even during the slow season, we had to park down the street. However, I do believe they have valet parking during the busier seasons. Also, there are no elevators. This was not an issue for me and my husband, but may be for someone who has difficulty walking.

Regardless of those minor issues, we’re looking forward to our trip back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godiva0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANDOLPH NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have stayed at Virginia hotel before and our experience with nothing short of awesome once again. If you are booking a package which includes a pre-paid voucher for dinner, watch out - you STILL need to make reservatiosn with the restaruant. Apparently, the hotel and reservatiosn for dinner are two separate processes and just because you pre pay for a vouchers does not guarentee yuou a reservation at the Ebbits Room. I discussed this with the General Manager of the Virginia Hotel, Justin Mogavero, and he was aware of this issue already. It would have been nice when making the room reservatino on line that a pop up box told you you needed to make separate dinner reservation too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhYeahRandolphNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Booked for January 2, 2013, one night and pleasantly surprised the holiday crowds were gone and we had the place to ourselves. it was wonderful and first class service. Off season rates are great. Cozy living room, fireplace lit and just reading and relaxing. Spa treatment at Congress Hall was excellent and again we had the place to ourselves. Would defintely recommend the Virginia and we will come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay a night at the Virginia hotel for our anniversary this January. We heard great things so figured we'd check it out. From the moment we pulled up I knew we were going to love it there. The beautifully lit fireplace and cozy seating area was such a warm welcome. We had a medium sized room with a king bed on the third floor and it was adorable. We loved everything from the colors of the deco to the mini bar =) We didn't eat at the Ebbit room because we had already made reservations elsewhere but the menu looked delicious. We plan to eat there the next time we stay at the Virginia hotel hopefully in the spring!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I checked in the day after Christmas for one night. We loved the Christmas decorations, so pretty. We had a room on the third floor. It was spacious enough with a modern/deco decor. I loved the wallpaper, mirror frames and red lampshades. We had dinner at the Ebbit room, food and service were excellent. Be prepared to spend a little, with wine and tip dinner was close to $200 for two (but we did each get an appetizer and split a desert so a lot of food!). I left off one start because the service was a bit lacking. Staff seemed on the young side and not at all polished. There was no one to help with luggage, despite three floors. Also, there was no turn down service which I read about on here before hand. Not a big deal but it would have been a nice touch. Breakfast was an added bonus, hot coffee, very light (yogurt and fruit, husband ordered a bagel) but certainly plenty. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing