We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STay at Virginia Hotel for New Year's Eve”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have stayed at Virginia hotel before and our experience with nothing short of awesome once again. If you are booking a package which includes a pre-paid voucher for dinner, watch out - you STILL need to make reservatiosn with the restaruant. Apparently, the hotel and reservatiosn for dinner are two separate processes and just because you pre pay for a vouchers does not guarentee yuou a reservation at the Ebbits Room. I discussed this with the General Manager of the Virginia Hotel, Justin Mogavero, and he was aware of this issue already. It would have been nice when making the room reservatino on line that a pop up box told you you needed to make separate dinner reservation too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhYeahRandolphNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for The Virginia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 561 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Booked for January 2, 2013, one night and pleasantly surprised the holiday crowds were gone and we had the place to ourselves. it was wonderful and first class service. Off season rates are great. Cozy living room, fireplace lit and just reading and relaxing. Spa treatment at Congress Hall was excellent and again we had the place to ourselves. Would defintely recommend the Virginia and we will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay a night at the Virginia hotel for our anniversary this January. We heard great things so figured we'd check it out. From the moment we pulled up I knew we were going to love it there. The beautifully lit fireplace and cozy seating area was such a warm welcome. We had a medium sized room with a king bed on the third floor and it was adorable. We loved everything from the colors of the deco to the mini bar =) We didn't eat at the Ebbit room because we had already made reservations elsewhere but the menu looked delicious. We plan to eat there the next time we stay at the Virginia hotel hopefully in the spring!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I checked in the day after Christmas for one night. We loved the Christmas decorations, so pretty. We had a room on the third floor. It was spacious enough with a modern/deco decor. I loved the wallpaper, mirror frames and red lampshades. We had dinner at the Ebbit room, food and service were excellent. Be prepared to spend a little, with wine and tip dinner was close to $200 for two (but we did each get an appetizer and split a desert so a lot of food!). I left off one start because the service was a bit lacking. Staff seemed on the young side and not at all polished. There was no one to help with luggage, despite three floors. Also, there was no turn down service which I read about on here before hand. Not a big deal but it would have been a nice touch. Breakfast was an added bonus, hot coffee, very light (yogurt and fruit, husband ordered a bagel) but certainly plenty. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had been to Cape May before and felt that it would be a great place to visit and experience a Victorian Christmas. The Virginia Hotel did not disappoint. It was beautifully decorated for the holiday. The amenities were more than expected and the service impeccable. All the comforts of home with the little extra touches. The continental breakfast came right to the room. We had an absolutely delicious meal at the Ebbit Room dining room. It is also just one block away from all the cute shops and the beach. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmcs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was our first stay at The Virginia Hotel and it was an excellent experience! The hotel is beautiful and very cozy. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. Location is perfect. Only 1 short block to great shopping with plenty of adorable eclectic shops and only 1 block to beautiful Cape May beach. We highly recommend The Virginia Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennabug7601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife took me away for a few days before the holidays and based on Tripadvisor, this was the place to go. The bed was heavenly, the shower was powerful, the staff was professional and curteous,

They have a continental breakfast that is high end and either delivered to your room or one of the verandas.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but enjoyed the bar for a drink to celebrate the season.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ditpook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $154 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing