We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Classy Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Classy Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife took me away for a few days before the holidays and based on Tripadvisor, this was the place to go. The bed was heavenly, the shower was powerful, the staff was professional and curteous,

They have a continental breakfast that is high end and either delivered to your room or one of the verandas.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but enjoyed the bar for a drink to celebrate the season.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ditpook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    120
    45
    26
    14
See reviews for
43
332
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

So beautifully decorated for holidays. Warm fire. Pleasant and helpful staff. Room was cozy and bath newly outfitted with large shower. Breakfast delivered in the morning was such a treat. Ate at the Ebbit Room, right downstairs and it was fabulous. Kind of a dreary night so it was so nice no need to go out. Overall, a warm and memorable experience. Will return hopefully same time next year!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zinniaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went in December for 1 night. It was decorated BEAUTIFULLY for Christmas. Check in was swift and friendly. The room was clean and spa-like. The radio was playing music when we walked in. When we came back from dinner, our bed was turned down and blinds closed. In the evening we enjoyed drinks in one of the sun rooms, adjacent to the parlor with a roaring fire and tall Christmas tree. Next morning we had a delicious complimentary breakfast in our room, which could have been eaten downstairs in the sunroom if we chose. The hotel is located just yards from Washington Street Mall. Great location. Perfect accommodations!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have been coming to The Virginia Hotel for about 6 years now. It started when we decided to come in the Fall (Sept) and had such a wonderful time. Then we decided to try it at Christmas time which was so beautiful. Now we have made it a yearly thing at Christmas and try to come in the Fall when possible. We decided that it was the best gift we could give each other. It is a magical place and great for creating memories. From the minute I step foot in the front door and see the fireplace going and all the decorations, It is so cozy and makes me feel so relaxed and peaceful. You feel like royalty from all the attentiveness from the staff. The front porch is what makes The Virginia so "special." I love sitting there with either a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening watching the trolley and horse and carriages go by There is so much to do in Cape May and the atmosphere is just so European. I just love it.

Room Tip: I especially love the room with the spa shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruise to Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went to Cape May, off season (in November). We stayed at the Virginia Hotel,
which is a bed and breakfast. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are beautiful and
the people behind the desk are very helpful. A great place to stay off season if
you don't mind most of the attractions being closed. It is very close to the beach
and it was fun walking on the beach and collecting shells, even though it
wasn't very warm. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, which we would do again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had to come back and get our "Virginia Hotel Fix". This was our second time and if it was possible, it was even better than the first (which was awesome)! From the minute we arrived to the time we had to pull ourselves away, everything was perfect. We had a cocktail by the fire in the lounge, enjoyed a delectable dinner in the Ebbit Room and shared a wonderful breakfast in our room. The weather great and Melissa at the front desk gave us some great ideas for places to go during the day and things that we could do. For anyone who wants that "get away", treat yourself and stay with the folks at the Virginia, they always make us feel special. See you in the Spring!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Virginia twice, once in the fall and once again in the spring. Hands down, had the best time we've had in Cape May. Wonderful staff, rooms, decor, drinks....loved everything about it. We definitely plan on staying again this summer and going for a private balcony! Had dinner at the Blue Pig in town, wonderful!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing