We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekday Get Away”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a very quiet weekday get away, which suited us just fine. Since November is definitely not in season in Cape May many people we met were people who lived in Cape May or nearby. The weather was nice enough' though, to walk on the beach, shop or tour around town. The Virginia was a lovely hotel with nice amenities. Our first floor room was spacious for two. Breakfast was included and you had the choice of room service or being served in the lobby or porches. We chose the porch which allowed us room to spread out to enjoy not only breakfast, but the paper and the company of other guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMW2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 567 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wow! The Virginia is a real gem. From the attentive staff, our cozy room, the exception cuisine at the Ebbitt Room, to the amazingly relaxing lounge areas, The Virginia is simply the best! Made our 5th Anniversary getaway beyond memorable!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Cape May has a lot to offer and you cant' really appreciate it in only a few days. The Cape Resorts group that offers the Virginian B&B is located on one of the prettiest streets in NJ. Everything is pretty much in walking distance and all the staff are friendly and the resort offers all the amenities you could ask for. Cape May is like no other town and anyone that visits usually comments how it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 2 great days at The Virginia Hotel in Cape May in late October 2012. It is a great place to stay. Also, had dinner in the Ebbitt Room. The food was great but a bit pricey. Waliking distance to anything and everything in Cape May.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Virginia Hotel Sunday Oct 21 through Wednesday Oct. 24, 2012. As usual, we loved our breakfast out on the veranda and the evening drinks by the crackling fire in the Lounge area. This time, once again, we had one of the 1st floor rooms and we enjoyed this very much. The rooms are beautifully decorated and staff is very accommodating. We have wonderful memories from our get-away trip.

This is a historic building so it does not have an elevator to the upper floor because of restricting city ordinances. In our case, we had no problem since our beautiful room was on the lower floor. We have also stayed at the Congress Hall (also affiliated with the Virginia Hotel) in the past but we enjoy the personal service and romantic ambience of the Virginia Hotel.

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is an issue, there are a couple of rooms on the main floor that we enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darby-GJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was surprised to read the post about the Virginia Hotel not wanting to refund a guest arriving this past weekend right before the hurricane. I stayed there last weekend and they sent a note to our room that they would be taking in the outdoor furniture and not to be surprised if we see someone boarding up the windows to our room. Also, when we left our room to check out, the housekeeping were waiting for us to leave the room. They clearly were in shutting down mode.

During our stay the woman behind the desk was very rude. Actually sighing when we asked for something, twice! Their valet parking attendant thought we were there for just dinner and not a guest at the hotel and parked our car in area for dinner guests and then couldn't find it in the morning and acted like we caused the problem. The foreign people behind the desks clearly need a class in dealing with guests. They were impatient and rude and I observed another guest ask for the manager when dealing with the rude woman behind the desk. Too many other interesting places to stay in Cape May to put up with rude staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swils45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I went Sunday to Monday, October 21 and 22, and stayed on the 3rd floor. There are no elevators, so if climbing a few flights of steps is a problem, let them know. We love Congress Hall and The Virginia is part of their group. The young man I spoke to for reservations was so personable and friendly (as we have always experienced when making reservations at Congress Hall). The big surprise was the young woman at the front desk on Sunday. She certainly did not belong in the hospitality field! She never smiled and seemed overwhelmed and impatient. Even later that evening while having drinks by the fireplace and she came by to fuel the fire, I tried to make small talk and she was uninterested. Now that would not taint my view of a hotel for the most part and it did not. And, as a matter of fact, the young woman that was at the front desk on Monday was the definition of hospitality. She exuded warmth with smiles and humor.
Walking up the stairs to the red laquered front door, the porch was inviting, clean and we could not wait to sit outside later that evening. There are small rooms where 8 to 12 people can sit and relax with drinks or just to talk. Each room was done up differently. Loved the red doors of the guest rooms. The rooms were lovely. Smallish, but for two people it is adequate for a short visit. The decor is on the deco side, and I loved the red lampshades. The room was clean and there were two comfy chairs with a table. The TV did not work properly, but we did not watch much TV. The showerhead was pretty strong. The walls are on the thin side, we heard talking in the room next door. We ordered drinks later in the evening and enjoyed them on the porch and then in the room with the fireplace. They are small rooms but we never felt crowded. We ordered breakfast in the room. The choices are limited. We ordered the granola bars. I did not know what to expect, and, wow! were they delicious.
There is no pool there and children under 12 are not permitted. I still love Congress Hall (we are 9 of us in the summer there), but The Virginia is a great place for a couple.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MITIJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $124 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing