We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in Cape May”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2011

It was a great getaway destination. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel itself was very beautiful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Great location, you can walk everywhere. Many great restaurants in the area. Overall it was a great getaway weekend. Would recommend it to anyone who is going to Cape May, for vacation or an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuno1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 567 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2011

Room was very pretty! Georgeous Bathrooms and very comfy beds! The hotel was decorated nicely. A very nice breakfast was delivered to our room. The staff was friendly! Its right in the center of everything, walking distance to the beach, bars, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrikeith1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We try to stay at the Virginia each summer to celebrate my birthday. A few years ago, they instituted a 3 night minimum stay, even during the week -- Well, we live only 20 minutes away, so that really doesn't work for us. But they will work with you to find availability for one or two nights, based on their bookings.
We were able to get 2 nights at the Virginia --
The first night we spent in one of the smallest rooms - nice, cozy, very clean....
The next day, the manager (Jason, I believe???) offered us an "upgrade" across the hall. He knew we were celebrating my birthday -- and although we had to move our stuff over... what a difference! The room was twice the size and the bathroom was stunning. It was more quiet and so much cooler than the other room. He didn't have to do that, and it just shows that the staff really pays attention to it's guests!
One of our favorite things to do is have a drink (or two) on the porch around 5 or 6pm before we head out to dinner.
This time, we brought our bikes along - and didn't drive the car for 2 and 1/2 days. Cape May on a bike is so enjoyable - even in the height of summer.
Having the Virginia as our "base" for these 3 days was the highlight. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (although I've been there and love it!) we enjoyed several great meals in town.
The continental breakfasts are filling and relaxing.
Looking forward to July 2011!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

A European feel. Small but very tasteful rooms. We looked forward to afternoons reading a book on the porch followed by a blissful nap. Really comfortable bed and pillows, nice linens. Discreet room service. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenrichardssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We just returned from a brief stay ;( in Cape May and happened upon the Virginia. What a beautiful inn/hotel. The staff was so accommodating and the place is charming. While it is a very old hotel, the amenities are very stylish and trendy and very well maintained. Lots of bright colors and patterns. The dining room is outstanding and the service great. From the moment we walked in until the time we left we were treated wonderfully. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to couples looking for a GREAT location in Cape May and a nice quiet, yet lively spot for a get away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisbon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

If u want somewhere with lots of space and comfort try out the Jackson room in the Red Cottage (across the street from main hotel). We stayed for three nights, had our own porch- super time. Loved their breakfast of homemade breads, fresh fruit bowl, tea and yogurt!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

This place was perfect for us. Every little nook and crannie. So many lounges to love, great front porch...very comfortable. Loved the roaring fire on a cool nite. Nice to sit on the porch on those comfie cushions and have a nice breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, home made pastries/muffins and coffee. Our room was gorgeous, huge king bed, great spa bathroom with big tub, nice windows and views. Excellent all around. Would not stay anywhere else in Cape May. Ebbitt Room was beautiful but very pricey. We were so happy the hotel had a voucher package with 100 dollars towards dinner there and enjoyed a lovely evening at the Virginia.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,240 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $124 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing