We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Grand Hotel !”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
A TripAdvisor Member
Basking Ridge, NJ
162
Reviewed January 24, 2006

We have stayed at a lot of Hotels in Cape May over the years, and found the Grand to be an exceptional one. We really enjoyed our stay. The room offered a great view of the ocean. It was clean and well furnished. If it had been warmer, I would have really used the balcony as a great place to relax and see the sights. The hotel staff was very curteous and helpful. The inhouse restaurant (Ballyhoo's)was very busy the Friday night we were there, but the service & food were first rate. The menu is outstanding! The indoor pool was another great place to relax and have a dip. The wicker chairs at poolside are very, very comfortable. The hotel is going to finish a year long rennovation in the Spring I was told, and from what I saw it has been well spent. We look forward to returning and enjoying it this Summer. The Grand really offers a terrific value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
62  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Grand for 6 nights with our 7 month old daughter. The pool was great and the front desk day staff was wonderful. When we got in our room there were tiles missing from the ceiling, some of which fell on the floor and sink area and left a huge mess. We called and they cleaned it right a way. The first night there was a MOUSE in our room. We called the front desk and they told us they would find us another room (it was 2am) but we were only going to be able to stay in that room for the one night. They didn't help us move (haveing a baby you have a lot of stuff) and our child was sleeping. The new room was ok, but it took 3 phone calls to get it straight that we were not moving again(which we had to miss our boat ride to see the whale/dolphins it took so long to rectify). There was no compensation or apologies from the management about this inconvenience. When we asked if we got anything off our bill, they offered us a 20 buck savings for breakfast at their restaurant, which when we went to eat, they were closed for over 1-1/2 hours till lunch. When I told the manager that, she really didn't seem to care!!! TOO BAD, we go Cape May every year, and we will NEVER, EVER recommend this place or go back there again!!! There are too many other nicer places to stay.

Stayed: August 2005
8  Thank SammysMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
267
Reviewed January 13, 2006

We stayed at the Grand in december for a weekend. The place was great! Room was clean and up to date. (redone)Staff was very helpful and friendly, and resturant was excellent! The grand,is the only place in cape may with an indoor pool, a bonus in the winter in cape may.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
57  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NJ
15
Reviewed September 27, 2005

I walked in the room, and they had the a/c blasting. There was condensation and thick, black mold covering the vent, wall, and wallpaper border. The panels in the celing had mold too. I turned off the a/c and went out for an hour or two, when I came back, the mirrors on the wall had condensation on them, proving the entire area was wet. The staff was very accomodating and nice about finding me another room (after the third room, I settled with one with only minimal mold). I was told that they always have a problem, because they're near the beach and try to keep up with it, but still! I was also told, "don't worry, it's not the deadly kind". Great. Are you an expert in indoor air quality? I'm in the environmental field, and I know that any mold is bad mold. I am also pregnant, which made me a bit more sensitive about the health issue. They really need to rectify this issue ASAP as they are putting people's health at risk!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2005

We stayed at the Grand for a long weekend in a regular standard room. It was right above the lobby. I was surprised to find that the room was clean, fresh smelling and newly tastefully decorated. The pools were beautiful. We didn't get to use the indoor pool, but WOW...how beautiful! We ate breakfast twice in their resturant and the food was good.

This motel would not suite me for a honeymoon, but it was very nice for family fun at the NJ shore. Most of the Cape May B & B's will not allow children, so they're not an option for most families. The Grand is located right accross from the beach and in a safe area for children. I give it 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
57  Thank CarmelaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bethlehem, PA
156
Reviewed September 12, 2005

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel in Cape May. I read several reviews after booking my trip and I was terrified that the hotel was going to be disgusting. It was not. Our carpeting was new, the room was freshly painted, the bathroom looked new I am not sure what everyone is complaining about. My standards I must admit are not as high when I visit the Jersey Shore as it is when I visit other places, like Mexico, Bermuda or Florida, but the room was very well kept as well as the pool areas. The maid cleaned everyday and even vacuumed the outside our room. The microwave in the kitchen was new, the mini fridge worked fine and there was even a little stove to cook on. The location of this hotel is great, the beach is beautiful. Both of their pools are immaculant. Don't let anyone try to scare you into not staying here, It's not the Ritz or a Disney Hotel which I am a big fan of, but it is really nice. It was not the least bit discusting. Go and enjoy your stay in Cape May at the Grand, you will be glad you did. We are definetly coming back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
56  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maryland
19
Reviewed September 5, 2005

This hotel was listed as a 2-star, so we didn't expect opulence. But for $170/night it was a bit shabby.

The door to our room opened onto an outdoor hallway, so we really couldn't relax outside the room like we could have had it been a balcony. The room had a little fridge and a stove, but no coffee pot.

We didn't notice the bad, musty smell that some people complained about, but that may vary depending on which room you're in.

The pool was pretty nice - there was no lack of lounge chairs. In fact, you have to keep tripping over them to walk around the pool. They had a DJ who blasted schmaltzy classic rock and Beach Boys-type stuff. The music was OK, but way too loud.

We did hear a lot of people around the pool complaining that the rooms that they got were nothing like the ones they had reserved. Our room was pretty much what we thought it would be, but it wasn't ready on time. We had to wait an extra 1.5 hours for it, which was no fun with a cranky toddler. They did let us check out an hour late though.

The staff was fairly friendly, but all in all for that kind of money we prefer La Mer or the Montreal Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $98 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing