We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I organized two retreats with the help of Sherri Hannaigan. I am writting to say that our experience and was great and do not think we would have such a wonder time if it was not for Sherri's help, organiational skills and endless attention to the details. As a business owner myself, I truely think Sherri is asset to your company. Thanks for a Great Time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

My quilting guild had a weekend at the hotel.. and it was very lovely....Sherrie Hanagan did everything she said that she would do.to make us feel welcome... we had lovely tables to use, and lots of extention cords for elec, nice chairs...all ways have ice and water we even were sent a beautiful cheese tray..dinner was great too....It could not have been nicer...The sleeping arrangements were great too...Thank you Sherrie.... Carolyn

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My quilt guild has had two quilt retreats at the Grand Hotel in Cape May, NJ. It is the perfect place for a retreat, we had our own sewing room where we could sew any time of the day or night, and we could leave our sewing machines set up the the entire stay! We had lunch served in our sewing room so we could continue to sew and break for lunch at any time we wanted. It was a delicious spread of sandwiches, fruit and dessert. We ate dinners in Hemingway's and also enjoyed a banquet style dinner in a private dining room too, everything was so good. A big thank you to SHERRIE HANAGAN for her expertise and willingness to make our retreats such a huge success!

Camaco Quilt Guild is very satisfied!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just got back from a week at The Grand. The hotel was more than sufficient for our needs. The kitchenette was very convenient. They offer a complementary trolley ride into town which was nice. Every evening they had kids activities which was great, my son loved the face painter. It rained the Morning of the 4th & they offered indoor movies in one of their banquet spaces which was really nice. In the evening the weather cleared and they hosted a party on the sun deck which was a lot of fun for the kids. The indoor pool was great, very clean, well stocked with towels and the lounge chairs inside were very very comfortable. Food at Hemingways was very good. We were in a Class F room in the older section and though some of the room shows a little wear its more than adequate and very reasonable for a Cape May getaway. We normally try different Hotels every time we come to Cape May but I think this will now be our goto place because of the indoor pool & the reasonable rates.

Room Tip: The parking lot can fill up quickly so time your outings so your back at the Hotel when spaces are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishMama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My organization is in the midst of planning a meeting at the Grand Hotel. It appears to be an excellent establishment to host us and of course sits in a wonderful location. I have been greatly impressed with the valuable assistance provided by Sherrie Hanagan throughout our decision process and as planning has gotten underway. I look forward to continuing to work with her and to a successful meeting next summer.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Last Halloween my over 55 community, Village Grande at Little Mill and Village Grande at English Mill had an overnight stay at the Grand Hotel in Cape May, New Jersey. Close to 80 people attended and everyone had a fantastic time. Much of this was due to the attention of Sherrie Hanagan who helped us plan the dinner, the dj and the breakfast the next morning. Everything went like clockwork. It was so fantastic that we are again going back to the Grand Hotel again but this time it will be on Mischief Night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our church has held our Women's retreats at The Grand Hotel for several years. Each time we come, it is clean, comfortable, and the food is delicious! The atmosphere is welcoming, and being directly across from the beach is perfect!! Each year, Sherrie Hanagan goes over and above to make sure every one of our needs is met! She makes having a big event extremely easy and organized. I would highly recommend calling her for your next gathering!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,256 reviews
1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $98 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing